We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Collingdale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Randamly selected this hotel with a weeks notice. With May bank holiday weekend upon us, myself and pregnant partner liked the look of Ilfracomb. Last visited there 20 odd years ago. It was a great long weekend made exceptional by our stay in this ideally located Bed and Breakfast. Great sea view with part of the harbour also visible. 10 minute walk into the main part of Ilfracomb. Our hosts were excellent giving tips here and there on places to visit, eat,etc. Breakfast was spot on if you enjoy your full English. Would recommend and have done already.

Room Tip: .A few steps to upper rooms. Be aware if unsteady on your feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 394 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel. We are a group of male (senior) walkers who find this hotel a perfect place to stay to walk the North Devon coast. Our hosts were most helpful and provided comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfasts. Would recommend this hotel as a good value place to stay. Would not hesitate to stay again if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great place to stay would go back again, stayed in room 8, lots of stairs up to top that was the only down side to us would have been helpful to have been advised of this when booking.
Breakfast superb, Sharon was very very helpful
Wonderful bed, linen immaculate
Thoroughly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Cosy and beautiful guesthouse with great service. Good facilities and amazing breakfast. It has a nice view to the sea from the coast, and it's the perfect start for a coast to coast cycling weekend. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcv_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for one night and Sharon the owner greeted us on arrival and was really welcoming even recommending the best places to eat in the evening. We stayed in room 8 which is right at the top. Don't pick this room if you are likely to find the stairs a problem. The view from the room is amazing. The only downside is the bathroom and shower which is tiny. Shame really. Its an immaculate house, beautiful and spotlessly clean and breakfast was gorgeous. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calspiers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Comfortable room with great view of the harbour and surrounds. Walking distance to restaurants for evening meal.

Sharon and Daryl made me feel so welcome and gave me so much infornation on places to see, I will be back.

Breakfast was outstanding. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night and we liked it so much we stayed another night. Sharon is a great host and nothing is too much trouble.

As other reviewers have said, the breakfasts are really very good indeed.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#4 of 52 in Ilfracombe
262 reviews
1 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#6 of 52 in Ilfracombe
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale Guest House

Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $110 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star Silver rated Victorian guesthouse which also has an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views across the picturesque harbour of Ilfracombe and the clifftop scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant guest lounge and breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Collingdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing