We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The also do a nice cuppa”
Review of The Smugglers

The Smugglers
Ranked #26 of 127 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We were surprised that there weren't many places for a cuppa in the shade whilst walking round the harbour. We had gone to the Aquarium but they said there was a 15 minute wait for a drink! The Smugglers is decorated in typical pirate style and has a large menu - the food looked lovely, but we'd had a big breakfast and didn't really need anything to eat, but the cuppa was very nice.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank bryanmg141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 767 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

Recommended by landlady of the guest house. We visited twice . Always busy would not even try in peak season to get a table. Apparently they don't take bookings . Highly polished brass fittings . Quite an extensive menu .
Downside most food is processed but still enjoyable.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Had several great meals whilst down on holiday again this year. In fact went 3 times during our stay. Lovely, hot and plenty of choice. From the daily roast dinners to the Turn your head sideways steak, which was lovely. Staff were lovely and friendly. Highly recommend.

Car parking is in the nearby public car parks and access is through the door straight into restaurant. Although the toilets are upstairs. Access from main street.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Came across this restaurant by accident. Despite being quite small and quaint, the menu was so good that we went there twice in one week just so we could sample more of the menu. We weren't disappointed. The steak, fish, gammon and pies were excellent. Good value food. Tasty. Great service. Clean. What more could you ask for?

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank elizabethjaneyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Right on the harbor so it has a regular flow of customers, The place is very cluttered and the decor stuck i the 80s. Ordered prawn cocktail which was a few very small shrimps on a limp lettice bed with a tasteless pink sauce literally squirted over the top. The grilled place served with mushroom and prawn sauce was awful , very small "Plaice" more like a Dab, was bland , gelatinous and had a very strange taste and consistency , obviously not freshly cooked , the sauce was from a packet and again tasteless with a few chopped mushrooms and a couple of shrimps mixed in, 2 onion rings were the cheap frozen reformed type you can buy at Iceland, 1 grilled mushroom and the chips were again the cheap thick cut frozen ones and were dry , tasteless and under cooked , very dissapointing and was full of tourists , obviously the locals know to avoid the place, the only saving grace was the young waitress who was very polite.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers also viewed

 

Been to The Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing