We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They were the only restaurant open - but we were so glad they were.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smugglers

The Smugglers
Ranked #25 of 118 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“They were the only restaurant open - but we were so glad they were.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

A lovely restaurant on Ilfracombe harbour. Looking for a meal in this area we walked down the length of the harbour road which is usually full of open places to eat. This time they were all shut apart from The Smugglers and one other (too pricey). We all had a different main course and dessert. They were all excellent. There is a lovely quirky decor in this restaurant and the atmosphere was a happy one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ysggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    85
    31
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jarvis brook, uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A welcome stop for two hungry travellers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We came upon The Smugglers after being turned away from a nearby fish & chip shop, as they were 'closing'.

We were warmly greeted by the waiting staff and had a choice of seating available to us, as they weren't overly busy. Our waitress was attentive without being overbearing and was very efficient.

Service overall was prompt, the menu offered a wide variety of dishes, maybe too many, but the meals we had were both well presented and cooked. Not 'Haute Cuisine' but good food that was value for money. We both had fish which was cooked properly and the portions were good & filling, to the point where SWMBO could only manage ice cream for dessert whilst I plumbed for the 'homemade sherry trifle'. Not sure which bit was homemade & maybe the chef was a bit abstemious with the sherry!

Overall a very pleasant evening out with meals that meet our expectations in both quality & budget. Recommend for both service & food. Not sure about the 'kitsch' seafaring decor but it was pleasant enough & the place was very clean.

Nice evening meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexhandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Service, Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The service was fine here however we were shocked at the quality of the products used for the prices charged. All we had was a couple of kids roast dinners (boil in the bag meat and veg) and a breakfast panini each (cheap sawdust sausages). This place is always packed so they must be doing something right but we won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank neilinhosmithinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, awful food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault how lovely the staff were, but the food was low quality pub fare and not cheap either. A waste of money unless you're looking for new friends!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hope16ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Seaside food in a spotless restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This restaurant has a dark interior and decorated with lots of sea faring items and copper/brass ornaments and pots. Do not be put off - people wait in the bar area just to get a table here.The menu was varied and had everything that a typical seaside restaurant could offer - the homemade steak and ale pie was amazing despite a wait of half an hour for the food . All our meals were hot and beautifully cooked, plenty of it and reasonably priced. The waitresses were helpful and were working very hard to make everyone feel welcome as every seat was taken. The cleanliness of the place was outstanding. All tables were wiped down promptly and any food swept from under the table straight away before any one else was seated!
I would recommend this restaurant for its good, honest food and high standards of cleanliness!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers also viewed

 

Been to The Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing