We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Widw choice of dishes...good or bad?”
Review of The Smugglers

The Smugglers
Ranked #24 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Widw choice of dishes...good or bad?”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Smugglers is convenient for the town quay. It has a very comprehensive menu which boasts a number of ‘homecooked’ dishes. Problem here is that the rest of the menu probably isn’t and is bought in and reheated. Shank of lamb was a case in point. At £13.00 it resembled the boxed variety available for a couple of pounds from Morrisons. Small, tasty enough served with good freshly cooked vegetables. The ‘steak and kidney pie was mainly kidney but was a good portion. The chocolate fudge cake was, again, the sort available at a cash and carry and tasted synthetic. The service is friendly, the food bland and a dinner for two with wine from the reasonable list costs around £60.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BasilMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    88
    31
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food and service!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This restaurant is a great place to eat in Illfracombe. One of the best things about it is the extensive menu, you can have anything from a good pub meal to lobster, the range is exceptional and so is the quality of the food. The other great thing about this place is the service, the staff are very friendly and attentive. The whole ambiance of The Smugglers is fantastic, from the decor on the walls to the interesting artefacts hung around the room, which ensure the brilliant atmosphere of the restaurant. Furthermore, the value is good, especially the wines, which are excellent! I would definitely go back and recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good meal with a great, unique atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seafood Lover”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Smugglers do not accept bookings and work on a large turn around. When we arrived we had to wait for a table to become free, this was not a problem as we had a drink at the small bar. However the table offered was opposite the kitchen door which was not to our liking and they prepared us another table without any problem. The menu is very extensive and covers for everyone's taste whether it be meat of fish. Food was well presented and plentiful, good value for money. Drinks reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank senior c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good choices, excellent service at Ilfracombe”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ate at the Smugglers on 2 evenings during our week at Ilfracombe. My husband enjoyed his local fish meals and I found the veggie options to be appetising. Good homecooking is the style here, food is well presented and tastes good. It does get busy in the evenings and there is no advance booking so a short wait at the small bar may be needed, empty tables are quickly cleared , cleaned and relaid for the next customers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
275 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been here a number of times over the years and have always had a very nice meal. Staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers also viewed

 

Been to The Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing