We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We Loved it!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Quarry.  The house is South facing, so you have the sun all day, and amazing views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quarry.  The house is South facing, so you have the sun all day, and amazing views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Quarry.  The house is South facing, so you have the sun all day, and amazing views.
Terrace off the dining room, this leads round to the wendy house & up to the back garden.
Ilfracombe's pretty harbour surrounded by cafes, restaurants & galleries. A 15 min walk away.
First floor family bathroom, large rain shower & vintage bathtub.
'secret garden' perfect for hiding away with a book.
Woolacombe Bay in peak season.  This beach often has great surf, its a 10 min drive from The Quarry.
Kitchen
Back garden top terrace - magnificent views!  The garden has many terraces, its perfect for kids.
Hallway, lots of room for shoes & coats.
Sitting room open fire, you'll find lots of logs in the conservatory.
Tunnels Beaches, a 5 min walk from The Quarry.  There's 2 other beaches & a big tidal pool.
Beautiful cliffs at the back of the house, see the coast path snaking over the hill.
The Quarry.  South facing, so you have the sun all day.  Set in 1/2 acre of private gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
V O
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Loved it!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a really wonderful weekend in this beautiful house. Cosy log fires during the windy storms and beautiful coastal walks in the post storm sunshine. A light, bright and very stylishly decorated house with lovely artwork and creative furniture around every corner. The beds were extremely comfortable and the house was equipped with everything we needed - a home away from home with a warm aga in the heart of the house, perfect for breakfast pancakes!
We found a lovely pizza restaurant in Ilfracombe called Relish - tasty food and child friendly. The children also enjoyed giant hot chocolates with whipped cream and marshmallows at the Damien Hirst café. There were long and short walks to suit all so we didn't need to get in the car at all (though a short drive to the amazing sandy stretches at Woolacombe was enjoyed).
All in all a fabulous house, in a stunning coastal spot with lots to explore... We'll definitely be going back!

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion S
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect location for family gatherings”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked this property expecting awful weather, so the house itself had to be good. We were not disappointed. It was stylish and comfortable without losing any of its Victorian character. There was loads of space for 12 people ( age range 15 - 94), it was spotlessly clean and well equipped. It was warm and cosy despite it being February, and the log fires in the evenings were a real treat.
The only daunting feature was the ridiculously steep driveway but we got used to it.
The coast path is only 5 minutes from the back door and we walked to the Grampus pub in the next village for an excellent lunch. Ilfracombe harbour, where you can see Damien Hurst's wierd sculpture, is 10 minutes walk down the hill (20 mins up again!) , Woolacombe and Croyde beaches are only minutes away by car.
We had a wonderful stay, and even the weather obliged after all!

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The elegant and comfortable ambience
Liked least: The driveway!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Quarry, I really appreciate it. We're delighted you had a good stay & enjoyed the house. Best wishes, Kirstie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimparkle...
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It is a long way to get here but once you do, you will see why”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We rented this property for an extended family reunion. 10 adults, 7 kids ages 5-15. The property is located on Torrs Park, which is a pretty chic area of Ilfacrombe, with other nice larger houses around it. It is also on a very quiet street. The first thing you have to know is that the pitch of the driveway is ridiculously steep and narrow. If you have a car bigger than a midsize sedan, forget it, and you need to make a hairpin turn. But once you are up the drive, the views from the house are pretty sensational. The layout is very logical and intuitive, with a large kitchen on the left and the connected dining and living rooms on the right, with french doors leading from the dining room to a small but nice deck. There is no large patch of grass per se so you would have to go down to the quay to get some open patches of grass. There are 7 bedrooms and I believe 5 total bathrooms, some full, some not. But overall, the layout of the bedrooms was intuitive and most rooms well sized and logical. The furnishings are very tasteful, slightly modern and minimalist but this would be a nice place for a photoshoot for a home or lifestyle magazine. I never met or spoke with the owner, but I did email her, and she was very helpful and responsive about things from catering to getting airport transfer to LHR. The caterer we used was excellent and frankly not bad value considering how much we eat. We booked the house for a week to celebrate our parents 50th wedding anniversary, and I do believe everyone enjoyed it. For the kids and adults, the wifi was strong and worked well as was the sky tv. We have done about 8-10 other extended family holidays from Vancouver to Cape Cod to Costa del Sol Spain, Nantucket, Bath, etc, but this house by far was the best, not only in terms of comfort, but also from a design and aesthetic point of view. The only minor quibble is that none of us could figure out how to use the ice dispenser in the kitchen.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the bedrooms
Liked least: The driveway is a nightmare
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranC477
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

11 of us wanted a large house in which to spend a weekend celebrating mine and another friends birthdays. The Quarry looked beautiful on the website, and I'm happy to say that the reality matched the web!

From the warm scones and cream tea on arrival, to the beautifully restored and decorated house, to the logs for the fire, every aspect of the house was just lovely.

It feels like a home, and not just a holiday rental. And we all felt very comfortable and relaxed. Would love to come back in the Summer!

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Period property with modern touches
Liked least: Walk up the drive!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisylady...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect house for our group of friends and all our children”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I totally agree with the previous review. The cream tea waiting for us was lovely after the long drive from London. The Ren products were a nice touch. I would urge guests to look in the cupboards, whatever you're looking for is probably there e.g. potty, plenty of extra bedding, pillows, steriliser for baby bottles, etc etc. The bedrooms were all superb (as previous reviewer said), the toy box was well stocked so I needn't have taken toys or books for the children. Lots of rooms to explore and they loved the play house outside. I wish we'd have had chance to go halfway down the driveway to the secret garden! It looks lovely.
The house is really close to the shops and beach. We went to the Tunnels Beaches at the bottom of the road (there is a soft play place there too). It was my first time in Devon and I wasn't used to so many hills so I did struggle to get my car up the steep driveway (I drive a slightly underpowered large MPV) but my friends didn't struggle in their estate cars so it may have been my terrible driving! ;)
Sainsburys was the only online delivery that served this address so we booked a delivery for day of arrival.
The instructions for all the appliances were easy to find (I definitely needed them for the non-AGA oven). SkyPlus and wifi all working fine (although we didn't have the PIN for the movie channels, couldn't find it in the Information Folder)
The artwork round the house is lovely, a mix of traditional style and modern. Paintings by the owner look great and the beds made of what looks like reclaimed wood were lovely too. Great atmosphere at this house, I would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms, lovely furnishings, sea view, scones
Liked least: nothing springs to mind
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally g
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect house for family and friends”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

From the moment we arrived, we all loved The Quarry; spacious, clean, beautifully appointed (each room had plus points so nobody felt short changed, and there was no need to draw lots for rooms like we usually do!), lovely bed linen, large well appointed bathrooms. Complimentary Ren products and welcome food basics including cream tea on arrival were such a nice touch. Lovely aga and alternative oven for non-aga lovers.
Loads of crockery and kitchen equipment - 15 of us continuously eating and drinking and we never ran short of anything and found everything we needed. Logs for the open fire, endless ice for the gin and tonics...
Fantastic location; we enjoyed the walks, the town of Ilfracombe (beware transition seasons like June - lots of good local restaurants seem to be closed Sun to Tues inclusive), local yoga (http://www.facebook.com/breathingyoga) and the pub in the nearby village of Lee, plus all the other recommendations made by the kind owners (google 'The Quarry' website for details).
We felt the house had the perfect mix of style, comfort and taste, we settled in and relaxed immediately. It felt comfortable, up market and homely but uncluttered with great artwork and lighting, modern frnishings, audiovisual equipment etc.
We had sun too! So lucky as the rest of the UK seemed to be suffering a rain deluge at the time. We we all loved having breakfast and coffee on the sunny terrace but I am quite sure we'd have loved the house even if the weather hadn't been so obliging.
Truly fantastic house, it's going to be hard to find another one so good for next time.

Date of stay: June 2012
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space and style
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becs_Lond...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It had it all”
Reviewed November 7, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

The house is a wonderful balance of style and comfort. We were able to relax without worrying. Flowers in the main rooms were a lovely touch and the cream teas were gratefully received (as well as the milk and butter). It's the best appointed house (including crockery and cooking equipment) that I've ever been to. Just lovely.

Friday night we stayed in and had dinner for 15 round the table. Saturday it was fish and chips from Maddy's - yum!

A lovely time was had by all, the team have obvioulsy got the right recipe here. Take one very clean &beautiful house, furnish it well, make sure your guests ahve enough tea, milk, sugar coffee to get them started, throw in some cream buns, et voila!

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ease and comfort of it all
Liked least: walking back up the hill :-)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing