We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clearly loved by the owner - very homely”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Laundry Cottage

What you see as you come through the door!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What you see as you come through the door!
The cosy living room The cosy living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
What you see as you come through the door!
The cosy living room
The cosy living room
The dining area
A well equipped kitchen
The (downstairs) bathroom
Sunny master bedroom
..with walk in closet
and plenty of space
Pretty bunk room
with solid bunk beds
The front of the house
The patio garden
Low tide at Ilfracombe harbour- lots of sand to play on!
The beach at Woolacombe (at Easter)
The SW coast path at Coombe Martin.
North Devon coastline
The famous tunnels beaches
Tunnels beach in Autumn
Verity
The Campervan!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
BKingLond...
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clearly loved by the owner - very homely”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It is evident from the homeliness of this property that the owner loves the cottage and often stays - there are lots of ornaments and books around.
The lounge and dining area are cosy and we discovered that the courtyard garden is a complete sun trap.
The kitchen is very well equipped, though we found the new wooden worktop a little nerve-wracking as all water needed to be wiped away to avoid staining.
The bathroom is downstairs which may bother some but we have a downstairs bathroom at home so we are used to that.
The bedroom is very bright and comfortable with a useful storage area over the stairs.
The cottage is located a little way out of town and up a bit of a hill, which made walks back from restaurants in the evening a little slow going, but that said, we were able to start a walk to nearby villages by carrying on further up the hill, so well situated from that perspective.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness and well-equipped kitchen
Liked least: Walk up the hill from town.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarePB
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful cosy cottage”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed with my husband and boys (16 & 9). Very comfy, cosy and beautifully decorated, We loved all the paintings. We were able to park directly outside the cottage all week. The cottage had everything we needed and more, which included a table big enough to all eat around and play the family games stored in the dresser/cupboard! Wifi and multi channel TV kept the boys entertained on wet evenings and in the daytime the cottage is close to public footpath up to the Cairn walks in the woods along the disused railway line and tennis courts at Bicclestone park. The information pack in the cottage was excellent with so much to see and do in and around the area. It is a fair walk into town and the return journey is uphill, however, even in the school holiday we always found free or cheap parking in town. If you just want to relax, this lovely cottage with sun trap courtyard garden is ideal or use as a base to visit all the surrounding costal towns and villages. A great afternoon out is the haunted Chambercombe Manor!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of cottage
Liked least: Wooden sink top (keeping it dry)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelliot-n...
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little home from home”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The location of the cottage is a little way out of town with on street parking on a fairly narrow road. Laundry Cottage is one of a long terrace of Victorian cottages and has been lovingly restored by its owner. There are personal touches in all the rooms and on the whole the cottage is well equipt. Our son loved the single room with bunk beds and we found the double room worked fine for us. The bed was pretty comfortable although newer pillows would have been nice. The main living area was very comfortable and there is wifi and freeview TV. The only area that let it down for us was the small kitchen. It was tricky to keep it clear with no spare cupboard space for storing our own food, no dishwasher and a sink area with a new wooden work surface that we were very worried about keeping free of water due to the warning sign - I think a more robust material would be worth using next time. That said, we managed to cook very decent meals as the cooking equipment was excellent. One last comment would be to invest in a washer/dryer when the opportunity arises. The cottage has very little room to hang out wet clothes and most families need to do at least one wash while they're away. Despite these niggles, we would still recommend Laundry cottage as a good bolt hole to explore the local area and would consider staying again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall appearance of the cottage
Liked least: The lack of space in the kitchen and a few basics such as washer/dryer & dishwasher
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
I'm so glad you liked the cottage and had a good holiday. I'm sorry there is no room for a dryer but pegs and a washing line are provided (there are several places to attach the line in the garden)and clothes can be hung under the covered side return if it looks like rain. Or there are big dryers at the laundrette in town. Thanks for alerting me to a problem with the pillows-they are only 2 years old but went lumpy in the wash so I've just bought some more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necwal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely family bonding break !”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband , myself and our 2 young daughters stayed here for a week. We found the cottage homely and had everything we needed ! A little home from home. The cottage was great value for money and made the perfect base for traveling around North Devon. Ilfracombe is walkable from the cottage but maybe a little far for little ones . We found a lovely little park 1 mins walk down road which our girls loved and we ended up paying a visit every evening !! Parking was never a problem outside th cottage which was very helpful with all the beach stuff ! Overall we had a lovely week and would definitely visit again if the opportunity arose!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
1 review
“lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage was in a good location, well equipt, comfy and suitable for children. Great base for sight seeing in north devon. Would recommend and stay again if comjng to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: home from home
Liked least: stair case, with young child but gate provided
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagerNorw...
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely homely cottage”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a week at Laundry Cottage and was very impressed. The cottage is extremely well equipped from the free wifi, tv and dvd player and bbq through to the beach equipment for guests to borrow. The dvd player was a godsend given that the first thing our 2 year old daughter wanted to do when we arrived was watch her disney dvds! All of the rooms are very well furnished with some nice personal touches giving the whole cottage a lovely homely feel. Location wise it is well positioned for exploring Ilfracombe and the surrounding area and is situated on a fairly quiet street. Would definitely recommend for those who like to feel at home whilst on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free wi-fi, homely feel
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandyyyyy...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing little cottage, a home from home!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! I'm so glad that I stumbled upon this beautiful little holiday cottage! Well equipped, very warm, good location, lots of useful information on the house itself and the surrounding area. We shall definitely be making a return visit. I can't recommend this cottage enough!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing