We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing little cottage, a home from home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Laundry Cottage

What you see as you come through the door!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What you see as you come through the door!
The cosy living room The cosy living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
What you see as you come through the door!
The cosy living room
The cosy living room
The dining area
A well equipped kitchen
The (downstairs) bathroom
Sunny master bedroom
..with walk in closet
and plenty of space
Pretty bunk room
with solid bunk beds
The front of the house
The patio garden
Low tide at Ilfracombe harbour- lots of sand to play on!
The beach at Woolacombe (at Easter)
The SW coast path at Coombe Martin.
North Devon coastline
The famous tunnels beaches
Tunnels beach in Autumn
Verity
The Campervan!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mandyyyyy...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing little cottage, a home from home!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! I'm so glad that I stumbled upon this beautiful little holiday cottage! Well equipped, very warm, good location, lots of useful information on the house itself and the surrounding area. We shall definitely be making a return visit. I can't recommend this cottage enough!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emee37
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with everything you need - Lovely stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a fantastic stay in this cottage. Really lovely decor, comfy beds and outside space to use.
We had gorgeous weather the whole week and spent every day on one of the local beaches. Woolacombe only 10 mins away (go A361 way, not the back roads as brambles scratched our car that way)

The cottage had everything we needed and the travel cot fitted perfectly in the smaller bedroom. We had a small child and the cottage supplied 1 stair gate, a travel cot and a highchair - all came in SO handy. Plus the bathroom was downstairs which makes life easier when you have a little one running around.

Very handy to have the internet too, especially when we'd forgotten the phone charger, we could use our laptop to send a couple of emails here and there.

We had fantastic correspondence from Fiona, the owner, who answered all my various questions quickly and effectively - thanks Fiona. Also, was available on the phone during our stay if we needed anything. We needed to get someone to post a phone charger to us at the cottage and i emailed Fiona to see if her mail is redirected, Fiona replied straight away and let me know that it isnt which helped us out SO much.

Great directions and info on the cottage before hand which we used and found so helpful.

There is a small childrens park near the house to walk to which was nice to do some mornings.

The only (small) downside I think is the location, the road itself is really quiet and woods opposite make it feel really cosy (you can hear the owls hooting at night!) , however there wasn't anything in walking distance to the house, so sometimes felt a bit tied to the car, sometimes a pain when you have small children. I always like a good walk with the buggy and head to a local pub for a drink without having to think about driving home. Or even just a walk along by the sea.

A very small downside in my opinion, but worth nothing.

We had a great week and great value too!!!

Will definitely recommend Laundry Cottage to my friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor and the quiet road it was on
Liked least: the distance from the sea/local pub/restaurant
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and found the details I sent you useful. I'm glad you appreciated the peaceful countryside location of the cottage too. I realise with small children it may be a little harder but I always walk the 20 minutes into town in the evening. However, when its raining I do sometimes splash out £3 on a cab back! There are some lovely walks on the Tarka trail and across the fields to the coast directly from the cottage too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui P
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A very homely place to stay”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a wonderful long weekend at Laundry Cottage, it really felt like a home-from-home. The cottage had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. Well worth considering if you are holidaying in Ilfracombe..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wi-Fi and the terrace at the back
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just like home
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HegsMason
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, Warm and Cosy”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a short weekend at Laundry Cottage and enjoyed every minute of it! Fiona the landlord was incredibly obliging, always available and happy to assist, although we didn't need to bother her much as the cottage provided everything we needed. A very cute home from home property, very good value for the money, walking distance from the town centre but far enough away from the hustle to feel like a peaceful get away. Would highly recommend in fact already have to several friends. Would absolutely stay again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2013
So glad you enjoyed staying at the cottage. Would love to welcome you or your friends back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beckenham
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The totally homely feel - not like a hotel or lodging house.
Liked least: Having to leave! Seriously, nothing we didn't like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$78
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing