We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot On” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynbay Fish and Chips

Lynbay Fish and Chips
Ranked #7 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spot On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Proper fish and chips served with a smile. Cannot ask for much more than that! Excellent.We just bought a bag and sat on the wall seats outside the shop...delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank konrad1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    103
    38
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth Cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“dog friendly chippy !!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

really fresh fish & chips, good service & bought out a bowl of water for the dog,
would have got 100% but he forgot to give me my change whilst chatting !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Druthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Fish & Chips in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visit N. Devon every year and would not consider a visit to Ilfracombe without stopping at Lynbay Fish & Chips. Simply the best fish & chips! Lynbay has it all, a sustainable fish policy, family friendly, clean, good value, great service and wi-fi. Not to mention being located on the lovely Ilfracombe harbour. Wish we had such a wonderful restaurant where we live. One of my favorite places to eat in the UK!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sustainable fish is a chip off the old block!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ifracombe on a Bank Holiday Monday afternoon is not my idea of heaven, especially when you're looking, amongst the heaving crowds, for somewhere nice to eat and you've got a baby in a pushchair with you. Lynbay Traditional Fish and Chips shop proved to be our salvation. It's easy to miss, tucked away on a busy street full of eateries and wannabe tourist traps, but I urge you not to walk on by.

We were not looking to sit down, although that option is available, and I am sure it would prove to be a very pleasurable experience. Instead, we opted for a blanket on the beach opposite, exposed in the harbour by low tide. The chips were excellent, as was the fish. They have a range of fish available, including a fresh local catch of the day, and they make great play of seeking sustainable varieties. They also offer steamed batter free fish - is that what the recent reviewer bemoaning the absence of batter ordered? - but I must say that although batter is something I usually regard as something to be endured to get the fish, that was not the case here: the batter was supremely enjoyable in its own right.

if you need any more convincing that this is a real jewel, then I'll add that although this was late on a hot bank holiday afternoon, with the sit down part being crowded, the toilets were vacant, clean and even pleasant smelling! What more could you want?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A++++++ food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food. Chips were fluffy and tasty and the fish was amazing. The sausages and fishcakes were definitely a hit with my little boy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markwilson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynbay Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Lynbay Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing