We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Ilfracombe”

Lynbay Fish and Chips
Ranked #9 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“The best in Ilfracombe”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Quite simply, the best chip shop in Ilfracombe. It's nice to sit outside on the harbour wall or further along the harbour for wonderful sea views. The fish and chips are divine. We always head here every time we visit the area.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    120
    47
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Am I missing something?”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Having read such good reviews for this fish and chip shop we thought we would give it a try. We wanted to eat in and sat at a table, and waited and waited, it was if we weren't there, finally I caught the eye of a staff member and our order was taken. The staff only seemed interested in serving the take away customers, again a long wait for our meal to come. The fish and chips were nice but, they were so small, the portion of chips we had were suitable for a small child and my fish was mainly batter. No bill was brought to us when we were finished and we had to queue up with the take away customers to pay.

Maybe we were just unlucky as everyone else seems to love Lynbay fish and chips but we were very disappointed and the next time we had fish and chips we went to Maddys where it was a much better experience all round.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northamptonshire888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving feedback. Portion size and price is inline with the local area. Restaurant customers are never required to queue to pay a bill and are certainly not secondary to take away. It is a shame you didn't enjoy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BEST CHIPPIES IN ILFRACOMBE BY A MILE!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Simply the best chips ever. Crispy on the outside and beautifully fluffy on the inside. Served in a tray and eaten on the wall overlooking the harbour! Watch out for the seagulls tho'!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROADTRIP1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic fish and chips !”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

You cant go to the coast and not have fish and chips ! But which shop do you choose ?
it just had to be this one the smartest looking one on the harbour side ,eat in or take away ? with the smart décor we decided to eat in and found the staff Happy and Friendly, the fish was freshest with a delicate fresh flavour and cooked to order, great chips too .well worth a visit and would recommend the lynbay to anyone who is visiting Ilfracombe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camperstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Down, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best fish & chips”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great Fish & Chips the best iv,e have The staff are very pleasant and some of the girls in there are quite hot well worth a visit beleiv

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynbay Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Lynbay Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing