We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best I've ever had.”

Lynbay Fish and Chips
Ranked #6 of 122 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Having moved to the area a year ago we have sampled many fish and chips (and chicken burgers) in the area but none come close to Lynbay. Service for eating in or outis great, fabulous value and the best tasting. Even happy to oblige to my son's request for a cheeseburger without the burger after recovering from tonsilitus. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

746 - 750 of 814 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Whilst on Holiday, we visited this chip shop on Saturday 18th May 2013, we ordered 2 portions of fish and chips and discovered the service to be terrible, the server was more interested in impressing his mates, who had just walked into the shop. Plus when we finally got our order, we found the fish to be very small and inadequate. Perhaps we are spoilt, as we eat regularly at the national chip shop winner, which is just around the corner (Seniors at Thornton-Cleveleys). But if most TripAdvisor reviewers on Lynbay chippy had eaten here, then I sure they would change there opinion and their review.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barty_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving feedback. We have all new and fully trained staff ready for the summer ahead, with regard to portion size, they are inline with the local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took a slight detour to try the fish and chips here after seeing such good reviews - glad we did - absolutely perfect battered cod and chips. Would thoroughly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I visited Lynbay Fish and Chips this evening and as usual I had a great meal! My fiancé and I walked down to the Harbour and as we arrived there was already a large queue, we were queuing less than two minuets before our order was taken! The Staff who took our order were friendly and show high quality of professionalism in the heat of summers evening. The resturantant is clean, tidy and welcoming. The food is presented well both in the take away and the restaurant . The cost of food is extremly reasonable and 100% worth it! The stranded for food is at the highest quality and the fish is the best I have ever tasted. I would really recommend Lynbay Fish and Chips, you won't be disappointed!!

Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The fish and chips here are amazing! Cooked to order in front of us. So fresh and tasty. Batter very light and chips were absolutely delicious!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige P, Manager at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynbay Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Lynbay Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing