We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views......But........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Where to start. Sleeps six NEVER !!!! What a shame, these are not lodges more like sheds. The windows were covered in condensation in the mornings and this was august. They actually smelt damp on arrival. our clothes were wet from being hung in the "wardrobe". The sofa was like sitting at a bus stop. The wifi did not work. No fresh milk. Dog hairs everywhere. I would like to suggest to the owners to replace these sheds with yurts, you will never get rid of the damp in them and will be forever plying money into them. Don't waste such a beautiful location. Even as a camp site ?? The owners seem lovely and we could see they are trying but without replacing them it is not going to happen. Hate so much to review this place and is in no way vindictive...just the truth !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouseytongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Grattons Cedar Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

The week before we were due to arrive we read 3 bad reviews, we immediatly contacted the owner as my grown up daughter has health problems. He discussed everything with us and put our minds at ease, but he also offfered us our money back - we did not accept his offer. On our arrival we received such a friendly welcome and again Dave told us if we were not happy he would stil refund - "no need"!! We had a wonderful stay, the location was wonderful, yes it is on a steep hill (no surprise if you look at the details before you book!) and the path can be a bit slippery when wet, but there is a handrail. The property is compact but it is clean and everything you need is provided, the shower is not massive but my partner is 6' 5" and he managed without too many problems. If you want 5* luxury, then you need to pay for it, but for a lovely relaxing time and value for money, then this is the place to be!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Local013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I booked a stay at the lodge with our 8 month old daughter. We were looking for something that fitted in with our small budget ( being on maternity leave!). We arrived and were given a warm and friendly welcome by owner Dave and his daughter Isabella.
The good thing about this lodge is that the owners are a young family and are very understanding when it comes to getting the accomodation right for a baby. They are very prompt and heLpful lwhen you need some help.
The lodges are simple, but for the price you pay, we couldn't ask for more. You may not get tons of space but the facilities are what you need and you get what is says on the tin. The view from our lodge was priceless.
We would recommend this place, it was great and we enjoyed our stay and will no doubt visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family (2 kids) have stayed at Grattons Cedar Lodges twice in the last year and have enjoyed a lovely stay on each occasion.

The lodges are exactly what they are on the website/Hoseseason's site: clean, all basic facilities provided for and a briliant gateway to a beautiful area....all in all good value for money.

The hosts are clearly midway through renovating some of the lodges and are upgrading things like showers, TV's, kitchens etc. Both lodges we stayed in were exactly as we expected and we were happy each time, giving great views of the very picturesque village and surrounding hills.

We loved exploring all of the local attractions such as Watermouth Castle (don't be scared by the museum bit at the start, the park behind is great for kids), Putsborough Sands beach and the Big Sheep near Bideford.

The charming hosts were more than happy to point us in the right direction and were warm, friendly and genuinely looking to provide us with a nice stay - which they delivered!

Not sure why other reviewers have scored so low - we found Grattions as per how it had been marketed and therefore not a disappointment in the slightest.

Overall I'd happily recommend Grattons to familes, couples, walkers, dog-owners or anyone looking for a low-cost self catering holiday that allows them to enjoy the delights of North Devon.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views but the kids loved Woodpecker as it was nice and high up with the ability...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Expecting a lovely warm comfy lodge, we got a horrible freezing cold shack. Theres no other way to describe it. When we first arrived after a long,uncomfortable drive, we were greeted with a steep hill and we expected it to get better but it didnt infact it got worse. The lodges were all scattered around on a hill with very steep steps going up to them. We had hoped we were going to get a lodge (we thought at the time) right at the bottom as we had 4 very heavy cases and alot of bags to get inside. But we were greeted with the news that our shack was right at the top of the hill. So consequently we had to get the cases all the way up the hill. In hurry to get everything up I shut my thumb in the car door. So I rushed upstairs to run it under some water when i turned the tap it took about 5 minutes to get to at least a reasonable temperature. Then i gave up and wanted to go and sit on a comfy sofa to think of what to do but it was like siting on concrete it wasnt comfy at all. We then decided to go back in the car as it was far to cold to stay in the shack. We then drove about for a bit as the car was warmer then the shed. We then had to go back at midnight after going to A&E for 4 hours. Even that was terrible. We tried turn the heaters but if we had left it on it would have burnt the shed down. The shack had a corner kitchen with was dirty with foil underneath the cooker. The eating area was a wooden tiny picnic table. The lounge as I already was like sitting on concrete. The bedrooms were just miniscule. Freezing cold absolute disaster and horrible. Never ever stay here. I am now grateful for anything i stay in after this disaster holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Described as a group of homely, 'warm' holiday lodges, the Gratton Cedar Lodges seem - perhaps not a delight - but at least habitable on its advertisement. Although we cannot blame the acccommodation for the weather, our weekly stay at the lodge in May of this year really was terrible to say the least. After a long journey, all we wished to do was sit down. Did we find anywhere? I think you know the answer. This was something else.

The location was okay as it was near a lot of tourist sites. Although, being located on a steep hill was hard to get to even in a 4x4. Also, the help we received on arrival and during our stay was minimal.

The shack - regrettably the only way to describe it - had three small, cramped rooms - a family lodge - and one toilet with no door. It seemed a dog was still living in the lodge (as pets are allowed) with the damp wet dog smell that we were constantly met with on return.

The grill was dirty, still had foil underneath it, and wouldn't heat anything. The kitchen was a tiny square corner of the hall/living room/dining room, and definitely didn't have enough room for a week's worth of food for a family of four. As for the bedrooms - cramped doesn't cover it.

The main problem, however, was the immense cold. All of the windows on the property were ice cold - in April - and hence let in a constant frosty draft. Although we were not expecting it to be warm in Devon in the Easter holidays, but the complete lack of heating facilities within the property was diabolical. The cold made it almost inhabitable for the five days we stayed - every member of our party caught a cold from the freezing environment. We repeatedly woke up in the middle of the night shivering and with an icy cold face - we had to eat out every evening as we couldn't bear to stay in the cold any longer. It got so bad that we found ourselves sitting around the storage heater warming ourselves up as it didn't circulate the room.

As for the shower - there was no hot water, and even when the water began to work there was only a tiny trickle. Luckily for us we had an apartment booked in Newquay for the second week of our stay - which was fantastic in comparison. For £50 a night the value for money was very poor.

Take my advice - never stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our stay here was awful our lodge or hut for a want of a better word was just unbelievable would not reccomend this place even for free! The location of the hut is up a mountain!!! We are all physically fit and the steep walk back from the very small town one pub one shop took it out of us. There was dog hair in the place, we couldn't get the steam out of the hut once each of us had a shower, we couldn't keep the place dry after the awful experience of the used shower curtain wrapping itself around you!!! Our clothes eventually started to get damp and smell. The bedding was very stale smelling and the bedroon was about as big as the double bed in there and the make shift wardrobe??? Laughable we didn't hang our clothes in it due to the worry of it collapsingTheres nothing here what so ever to do we had to drive everywhere, it all felt quite isolated. Around the hut was too much folage hence no airation around us. Leading to it was makeshift stone steps which on a very wet day you will brak your neck on, This is not a place i would have stayed in if i had read the reviews before hand due to there not being any i have felt the need to warn you before you spend your hard earned money here we laughed due to our group[ had we not been here together i would have cried and driven straight home!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowerShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
445 reviews
2.6 mi away
Score Valley Country House
Score Valley Country House
#25 of 53 in Ilfracombe
95 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mullacott Park
Mullacott Park
#11 of 25 in Ilfracombe
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grattons Cedar Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grattons Cedar Lodges

Address: Hagginton Hill | Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $47 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grattons Cedar Lodges are set within a picturesque hillside garden location on the edge of the award winning village of Berrynarbor in North Devon with stunning valley and sea views. Positioned just a mile away from Exmoor National Park and close to some of the best beaches in the country. It's an ideal base from which to explore the scenery of North Devon or just to relax in the peace and tranquility of the garden setting. For visitors looking to enjoy the great outdoors there is fishing, tennis, horse riding and golf nearby as well as easy access to the moors for walking and rambling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grattons Cedar Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grattons Cedar Lodges Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing