We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely end to the day...”

The Great British Tea Shop
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely end to the day...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Found this little gem whilst on holiday this week.
Beautiful cakes, gorgeous decor, helpful staff and a great british feel to it!
It's a MUST visit!!

Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPGBTS, Owner at The Great British Tea Shop, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    37
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The toasted sandwiches were made with homemade bread..doorstops totally delicious and of course followed by homemade cake. Also dog friendly for well behaved dogs. Totally recommend and will be going back for the afternoon tea!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPGBTS, Owner at The Great British Tea Shop, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and took the time to leave us a fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy crab salad sandwiches + teabag timer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Fresh crab, fresh bread - brilliant sandwiches. Great selection of unusual hot drinks - my tea arrived with a teabag timer to ensure a perfect cuppa! Gorgeous cakes, + scones for trad cream tea. Love the variety of cups and teapots. Definitely worth seeking out this café.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Av_J_Mois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPGBTS, Owner at The Great British Tea Shop, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks for visiting us at the tea shop and taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us, and our infusion timers! The Novus tea range is lovely, hopefully you will manage back to sample the menu further. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It really is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Had drinks and cakes here and cannot fault it. As my daughter said,"This is the best lemon cake I have ever had!"
Much better than another ranked much higher on the list. If you're in Ilfracombe go here!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPGBTS, Owner at The Great British Tea Shop, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks for visiting us at the tea shop and taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you liked the cake, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home-baked excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast, lovely food, good cup of tea, really great people. Made to feel welcome and wanted ... And the best Eccles Cake I'd has in ages.

Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPGBTS, Owner at The Great British Tea Shop, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great British Tea Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Great British Tea Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing