We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pub burger ever”

The Pier Brewery Tap & Grill
Ranked #28 of 118 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Pier is a Brewery Tap and Grill serving great real ale from The Wizard Brewing Company and a wide selection of locally sourced gourmet burgers, steaks and seafood, as well as daily specials. Our family friendly pub is situated right on the harbour in Ilfracombe, and boasts a large seafront beer garden with spectacular views of the ocean and North Devon coastline. We're ideal for a romantic dinner for two but luckily can also cater for big groups, functions and this year have even done a wedding reception
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pub burger ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had the best burger in the Pier tavern, but it wasn't just the burger that makes this a great pub.
The staff from the start where fantastic and nothing seemed to be to much of a problem in making you feel welcome.
Its placed right at the beginning of the pier which puts it in a picture perfect setting, and the beer garden looks over the cliffs at the back.
A must for real ale drinkers with their in house Wizard ales.
Great place great ale and great staff, keep it up .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    75
    27
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“what a 'magical' improvement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had always steered well clear of this pub even though it is in a choice location adjacent to the pier. So glad to have popped in to be met with a hearty and cheerful welcome from the new proprietor and his brother. They explained their vision for the establishment and introduced us to their selection of locally brewed ales - just thought they were excellent - even to a man from Burton Upon Trent ! I Have little doubt that their vision will be realised so look forward to returning next time we are down.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The beer rocked my world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had an unintentional evening here and felt the quality of the Wizard Ales was worth a mention. Apparently from just up the road but tasted like they (there was quite a few) came from heaven.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiverGareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

its an up and coming pub, popped in on the off chance for a quick drink, stayed all night and went back the following night, would be my local if i didnt live in Wales.
would like to thank Holly and the rest of the staff for an amazing weekend, cant wait to go back, this is one of the reasons why we would come back to ilfracombe , came home refreshed and hung over, brilliant time, thanks everyone cant wait to see you again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely beer, lovely food, lovely service. Give it a go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Doesn't look much from the outside and the inside may not be to everyone's taste but the beer, the burgers and the service shouldn't be missed. The chef happened to be enjoying some of his own food at the next table and his enthusiasm for his job was clear. He also sounded just like Jamie Oliver. Glad we chanced upon it and if we are ever in Ilfracombe again will make a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taxmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Brewery Tap & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Pier Brewery Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing