We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostess, dissapointed in menu options” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relish Bar & Bistro

Relish Bar & Bistro
Ranked #13 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hostess, dissapointed in menu options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We chose to eat at relish on the last night of our holiday due to the great reviews on trip advisor, the proximity to our guesthouse and the promise of delicious pizzas on the menu. First impressions were good the staff were friendly and welcoming, the decor was warm and homely. We were shown to our table immediately but were very dissapointed when informed that the pizzas we were sooooo looking forward too, were off the menu! As was the the chicken. Which left us with very few options. We plumped for the fish and chips and the venison cassorole. The meals were presented very well and delivered promptly and with excellent customer service from our waitress. The fish was ok but not outstanding and the cassorole was slightly lacking in flavour unfortunately. The pudding of raspberry sorbet was rather nice was sharp but refreshing. On the whole the food let the side down. we couldn't fault the excellent customer service we received and had a good evening overall. We would come again... And hopefully Pizza will be back on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Matt-le-Hatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    31
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I live in Ilfracombe and some friends had said how nice it was so we thought we would give it a try, and am glad that we did, as soon as we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome, the atmosphere was good, the food and wine was excellent and reasonably priced would definately recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Atmospheric little restaurant. Staff were sweet, food was good. Simple.

Small points. Gents toilet so small that only one person at a time can use, and there is a window at waist height (which looks out onto what looks like another part of the building) so basically you're not sure if anyone is watching you take a pee!

Noone took our coats on arriving so they either ended up on the back of your chair or on the floor by the table.

Main menu I thought was a little limited in choice.

On the whole though a thumbs up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A most welcome addition to Fore Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Fore Street has some excellent and Relish stands with the best of them.
Service is friendly and excellent as is the food.

Try the French onion soup and pizzas. They are well cooked at a reasonable price.
The variety of the menu and drinks are very good.

Great cosy atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mugofjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“christmas dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Such a lovely and warm place with really friendly owners and staff. My girlfriend and i decided to do something different on Christmas day and eat out, and boy we wasn't disappointed. We was greeted with a warm and friendly welcome and glass of fizz. The dinner was 7 courses and every course was exceptional. We highly recommend this little gem to anyone visiting north Devon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Relish Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing