We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”

Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wildlife park that demonstrates how life was for the dinosaurs.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

my daughter is mad on dinosaurs and this park has some fantastic dinosaur exhibits.
also a great wildlife park with plenty to do. we loved the shows from birds of prey to sea lions,penguins.
food is well priced and plenty to do. took us around 5 hours to get around the park. well done all for a fantastic park. highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank martindowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your day with us. Your photos are great! Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    368
    170
    53
    55
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun and Informative day out.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The reception staff were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome right from the start.
Attractions at the park were varied and there was enough to keep my 5 year old nephew entertained.
The Sea Lion show was very good with the emphasis on educating the public and just the right length of time without losing the kids interest.
There were a variety of primates and the beautiful new White wolves, you could walk amongst the wallaby's and feed them. Otters were really cute as were the Meerkats, it is worth going in for the talk on the Meerkats, you sit down and they come very close to you.
We did not see the bird show as it poured with rain so cannot comment on it.
The bug world and Egyptian exhibit were very good.
Café had a fairly decent selection of food and prices were reasonable.
All in all we had a very good day out and would recommend it to others.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank c0rnishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, such a shame that the rain meant you couldn't watch our Bird Display. I am really pleased that you mentioned our emphasis on education in our sea lion show. It is really important to us that we have a balance, we try to provide the entertainment to keep our visitors interested which then gives us the opportunity to educate them as well. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your visit and thank you for recommending our park to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent full day out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited here after being given a half price voucher from The Big Sheep. Was really good! Yes, some bits are very steep and my 4 and 3 year old were really tired by the end (with a few whinges on the way!) but get on with it!! It's a lovely place in a lovely setting.

The enclosures were generally very roomy, loved the new wolf one and the 'tamer' animals such as the wallabies and lemurs were great. It would be great to see the gibbons in the larger enclosure next door though

One particular male member of staff gave very interesting and engaging talks and despite other reviews, no money tins were thrust in your face. It was mentioned as something they were supporting....just put in a few pennies, not really gonna hurt is it?!

We left at 16:50 and were stopped by an ice-cream girl who radioed for a buggy to take us up to the top car park...great as I had a 2 hour drive back!

The only thing I would say is that lots of enclosures are quite high up without many Perspex windows to view for kids, and the bug house could maybe do with a couple of plastic boxes (booster steps?) to enable children to view the middle and top exhibits

Will definitely re-visit, thanks very much x

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank clair2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for being understanding about our steepeness, we do appreciate it can be tiring when you have youngsters but without the valley we wouldn't have such a beautiful setting. I agree, our latest additions, the white Hudson Bay Wolves look stunning in that enclosure don't they! You mention our Lar Gilbbons and yes, they are next on the list for a larger enclosure which is exactly why we have kept that enclosure next to them empty. We need to make it gibbon proof so at the moment we are working out the suitability and costings on whether to do that or we may possibly extend their current one or even build a completely new one for them. We have already built a large new enclosure for our other black Gibbons in the last 6 months so rest assured it is definately near the top of our 'to do' list. I understand your comment on the lack of viewing windows in some of the enclosures and this will be taking in consideration when we rebuild those particular ones. We did position the Bug World tanks at different levels not only to enable us to have more exhibits but also to provide viewing for different visitor heights. I would love to provide booster steps for our younger visitors to see into all of the tanks but I could forsee Health and Safety being an issue for trips and falls. I will look into it and see what we can come up with. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A DAY OUT NOT TO BE MISSED”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On our visit to this a few years ago, we felt that this year we had to go back again as it is a truly wonderful day out for ALL the family, whatever the age. It is very good value for money and the staff are so helpful and knowledgeable and funny with it. To be able to go inside the meerkat enclosure and have them running round you as the keeper feeds them is a great experience. There is also the chance of a short train ride to find out what happens when an earthquake happens. All the animals are well cared for and we would certainly go back again and we would strongly recommend it to any of you are are down that way. The dinosaurs even come to life every hour, on the hour. If it is raining, take a brolly, but we had a glorious sunny day which added to a great day out.

Well done staff and thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin and Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It is always nicer in the sunshine isn't it! Thank you for your support of the park over the years and for your recommendations to others to visit us, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How to fill a day and still want to come back”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I love this place! Sure it is one one big hill, but that is Devon and what would be the fun if it was flat. This place holds our interest from the moment it opens to the last second it shuts. My favourites being the sealion show, so funny and the lemurs because they have such personalities and hold your hand whilst you give them food. Where else would you get to sit in meerkat enclosures and watch them so closely. If you want to scare the young kids get them near the dinosaurs just as the clock strikes the hour. Kids if you want to watch your parents jump get them on the train!
The best bit is you get half price entry for another visit.
Handy hint, drop the family off by the house then park the car. It is one steep hill!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ourpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so pleased you love us! We wouldn't like us to be flat here either as we wouldn't have the beautiful valley with its natural streams, waterfalls and exotic trees and plants. Your review is testament to the fact that if you participate with all the park has to offer you will have a much better day. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park also viewed

 

Been to Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing