We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel home from home environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crescent House Hotel

Crescent House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
1 review
“Fantastic hotel home from home environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

stayed in august.....i got engaged to my girlfriend tge hotel manager went out of his way to make a special weekend. Tgank you very much. Cant wait to come again good price great food. Excellant location close to everything you want and need. Hotel is immaculate jyst like the area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleytrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2012 for our wedding in Ilfracombe, along with a lot of our family and friends who had travelled down for the wedding. Liam and his wife were the perfect hosts: friendly, welcoming, organised, and even left us a bottle of champagne and chocolates in the room as a wedding gift, which was very sweet.

Because pretty much the entire hotel was booked out by members of our wedding party, we got to see into most of the rooms. The entire hotel and all the rooms were absolutely spotless and the views from some of the sea-facing rooms are beautiful. Not one of our group had any complaints, the rooms are luxurious but not overpriced with big comfy beds, and the cooked breakfast was delicious, with lots of other options like fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt.

The hotel is in the perfect position in town, close to the main high street, the sea front, and the restaurants and cafes. The one small issue is the limited car parking, although there is space outside to pull up and unload your bags and there are long-stay car parks all over Ilfracombe within walking distance. Although there are a few steps here and there between rooms, the hotel was very accessible for our elderly and disabled guests, and Liam was a fantastic help, carrying bags and putting those who had difficulty walking in rooms near to the lift.

Overall we so happy that we had chosen to stay at the Crescent House Hotel.
We will definitely be back for another visit soon!

Room Tip: The superior rooms with a sea view are absolutely fantastic, with gorgeous views and luxury bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in low season. The owner was very friendly and keen to help with guidance on where to eat and visit in the Ilfracombe area. The hotel itself was vast, however due to the time of year, it was not at all busy. The decor in the room was somewhat dated, but the bed was very comfy and the shower was great. The windows were not double glazed and our room overlooked Fore Street, which I imagine could be quite loud and bustling any other time of year. There was a small tv on the wall, table and chairs and plenty of room to move about in. The rooms were clean and the room was made up on our return from a day out. The breakfast was large, with a vegetarain option. We had a fry up, but I imagine they would accomodate any variations you desired. There was also fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurts on the side, with fruit juices. The hotel itself was located in a prime location for the town and harbour, with plenty of places to eat and drink surrounding. The chocolates and rose we had on arrival were a lovely touch :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The rooms were great, really clean and well maintained. The breakfast was really good, my family are all veggie except for my elderly mum who has a gluten allergy, and all our breakfasts were spot on.
Liam, the manager was so friendly and made us very welcome indeed.
The location is perfect for Ilfracombe, easy access to the front and the high street as well as the excellent restaurants on Fore Street (the Olive Rooms is especially good).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Booked a last minute get away as the weather was looking good . wasnt sure what to expect for the price we payed But on arrival we were pleasently suprised to have a lovely room which was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is great with loads of choice from continental or full english all self service so you can have as little or as much as you like.It is in good location close to the harbour with plenty of pubs & resturants for evening meals.Will definatly return maybe next time book one of the superior rooms

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40paz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights on 8/9 September 2012. We had a nice sea view room. The room was comfortable and clean. Nice bedding. Good shower. The guy who ran the place was nice and friendly and the food was good - what more do you want! The location was good because the good restaurants are in the same road and not far from the harbour. The owner will direct you to somewhere nice to eat too. I couldn't really fault it and thought it was good value for money. I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth getting a sea view in my opinion. I'm not sure if they have any rooms with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

First time stay in Ilfracombe for me & my partner,and we booked up quite late as we weren't sure that we'd make her sister's wedding due to work(we stayed from 19th to 22nd August).Liam was a fine host with plenty of information on places to visit & to eat out,honest & to the point we found him very good company on the occasions that we had with him.Our room was big,bright & airy;spotlessly clean throughout as was the hotel for that matter.Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice-fresh fruit,cereals,pastries etc so we didn't need any lunch.
As we don't drive,parking wasn't a problem but I can see how other guests would be disappointed-the actual street was to blame,not the hotel.
When we return to Ilfracombe,this hotel will be top of my list for booking.Thoroughly recommended and the leather rocking-chair in the lounge was a bonus!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent House Hotel

Property: Crescent House Hotel
Address: Fore St, Ilfracombe EX34 9DN, England (Formerly Altro Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crescent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Ilfracombe
Crescent House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing