We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: SEASONAL ONLY: Please see website. April, May, June: Friday, Saturday, Sunday, BH Mondays and Whitweek. JULY AND AUGUST: EVERYDAY EXCEPT SATURDAY. SEPTEMBER - 26 OCTOBER: Friday, Saturday, Sunday. Opens 11am, last orders at 5pm. Winner of the Devon Life "Best Tearoom in Devon Award" 2013 and 2014. 16th century working watermill about half a mile east of Ilfracombe town centre in Hele (Combe Martin Road, A399). Parking in Hele Public Carpark in Beach Road (by Hele Bay Pub). We are a family business, milling to produce flour for our mill-made cakes and for sale in the tearoom. We serve Devon Cream Teas including Devonshire Splits and Thunder and Lightning, and a wide variety of cakes made on the premises, many made from our flour. Our savoury items are locally made pasties and savoury cream teas. At least one GF cake aways available and we will make GF scones if preordered or not too busy. We do not sell cooked lunches or evening meals. Takeaway cream teas and cake available. We endeavour to entertain our guests with puzzles and quizzes. DOGS WELCOME in tearoom and garden, although not around the Mill itself. See our website for details or give us a ring. We look forward to welcoming you to Hele Corn Mill.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I can't fault the food or tea here but I can't agree that it's the best tea shop around; I have been to many better.
We ended up waiting around 40 minutes for tea and a piece of cake and when friends arrived 10 minutes later they had to do likewise. We gave up on getting a second coffee!
The courtyard was disappointing with nothing of note in terms of flowers etc.
Go by all means for a nice tea and cake but be prepe to wait for a long time!

Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helemill, Owner at Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Jeff
I am so sorry for the delay in you tea and cake arriving, as it was the same for your friends as well, that indicates it was a particularly busy day. We have been bowled over by the number of visitors who have seen reviews of our small business and sometimes when we are busy we do not get a chance to fully engage with our customers or turn orders round quickly enough. I'm glad you enjoyed my wifes cake as all cakes and scones are prepared by her. As to the courtyard, if you do come again and it is not raining why not go up into our tea garden which is a much greener affair and if you have time pop up and see our bees or better still enjoy a walk round our Mill ( Charges depending on age) and someone would call you when your food was ready. Regards The Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had the cream tea - best we have had anywhere and incredible value. Lovely setting as well. Would not hesitate to visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank york0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wonderful cream tea with the best scones we've ever tasted!
Also good selection of cakes but will have to try them next time if our waistlines can take it!
The setting is beautiful,very relaxed, and child and dog friendly, and a very easy place to sit for quite a while!
Family run business, all very friendly and homely.
We'll definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vivbrentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Visited here after following the coastal path from Ilfracombe to Hele as a leaflet had been left in our holiday apartment and as a result we looked it up online.
The service was very friendly and the scones were superb.
It's in a lovely old water mill which really added to the relaxing feeling.
There was a wedding party there as well but that didn't seem to effect how the normal punters were being treated.
Wish we'd visited earlier in our hols.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HerbieGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Very hospitable, delicious homemade cakes and scones. They bake fresh that morning!
Excellent service and challenges to occupy the kids.

Highly recommended.

Thank you

Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing