We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room”

Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SEASONAL ONLY: Please see website. April, May, June: Friday, Saturday, Sunday, BH Mondays and Whitweek. JULY AND AUGUST: EVERYDAY EXCEPT SATURDAY. SEPTEMBER - 26 OCTOBER: Friday, Saturday, Sunday. Opens 11am, last orders at 5pm. Winner of the Devon Life "Best Tearoom in Devon Award" 2013 and 2014. 16th century working watermill about half a mile east of Ilfracombe town centre in Hele (Combe Martin Road, A399). Parking in Hele Public Carpark in Beach Road (by Hele Bay Pub). We are a family business, milling to produce flour for our mill-made cakes and for sale in the tearoom. We serve Devon Cream Teas including Devonshire Splits and Thunder and Lightning, and a wide variety of cakes made on the premises, many made from our flour. Our savoury items are locally made pasties and savoury cream teas. At least one GF cake aways available and we will make GF scones if preordered or not too busy. We do not sell cooked lunches or evening meals. Takeaway cream teas and cake available. We endeavour to entertain our guests with puzzles and quizzes. DOGS WELCOME in tearoom and garden, although not around the Mill itself. See our website for details or give us a ring. We look forward to welcoming you to Hele Corn Mill.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Delicious scones, fresh clotted cream and jam and a great homely welcome. We visited twice during our week to Ilfracombe and would urge anyone in town to do the same. It's a lovely treat in the afternoon sun. We arrived five minutes before closing time but were assured that there would be no rush, they would just close up when we had finished. Five stars!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ph1lk1rby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“One word.... Delicious!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We found this little treasure after coming across it on here and reading its great reviews! Such a gorgeous little mill and the tea room complemented it perfectly! My parter and I order the mini cream teas with a gigantic pot of tea and even ordered a slice of their whole wheat lemon cake to take home with us. The scones were truly delicious with lots of cream and jam to pile on, and the quirky pot of tea and large mugs were just what we were looking for after a morning if surfing! Will defiantly be coming back one day and recommending this lovely place to others!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmilns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent would definetly recommend a visit”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved every minute of our time spent here, owners are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to ensure you have a great time, the "savoury " cream tea was amazing and nice to try something different, all the cakes were freshly made and looked amazing, my waistline was expanding just looking at them , fresh scones made with the flour from the mill are lovely and were straight from the oven and lots of different sponges and loaves to try. My partner and son did the tour of the Mill and said it was very good and informative. My kids enjoyed all the different puzzles you can have a go at while enjoying your tea / coffee. Wish we had discovered this place at the start of our holiday and not the end as we would have been regulars over the week we stayed in the area but if we are ever back in the area we will be going back for sure. Get along and visit if you can you wont be disappointed

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mysticmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not just cream teas”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Inevitably in Devon cream teas are almost compulsory - and they certainly look good here too! However don't ignore the rest of what's on offer here at the Corn Mill Tea Room.

Living near Dorset we've had the opportunity to try apple cake from time to time. However I can't remember the last time I had apple cake as good as I sampled on my recent visit here. We arrived mid-morning just after they had opened and we weren't that hungry. However the cakes looked so lovely and so fresh my wife and I decided to opt for the apple cake. We were tempted into the clotted cream as well. So glad we did. It really was fantastic!

With a lovely homely atmosphere, it's definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radicallymiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cream tea with style”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great place for the obligatory cream tea, great homemade scones and preserves, with flour milled on site, can you get fresher? With wonderful garden seating the mill wheel and the sound of the water, a real pleasure to relax and soak up the summer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing