We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chambercombe Manor

Chambercombe Manor
Ranked #11 of 38 things to do in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ottery st mary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

good place to visit but a little bit ott on the gohst side of things food ok but not briliant nice gardens must be better a bit later

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark55Ottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    55
    18
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Phone ahead to make sure they're open!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We tried to visit Chambercombe Manor twice - the leaflet in the hotel said that it was open on Saturdays, but when we got there it was closed. The sign outside said it was open from 12 until 5.30 on Sundays, but when we got there at 3.30, there was a sign in reception saying "guided tours only today, last tour at 3pm". At that point, we gave up!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jools_Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very interesting place,lovely to see all the old furniture etc and learn a bit about the history of the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We walked to and from Chambercombe Manor from Ilfracombe, bit of a trek up hill but we made it. Had a very nice snack in the tea rooms before joining the tour of the Manor. The guide was very knowledgeable and kept us interested with all the ghost stories and history of the people who had lived there. There are many interesting objects and unusual pieces of furniture. A great afternoons entertainment. If it was a little dryer we would have spent more time looking around the gardens but knowing we had a long walk back we only spent a couple of hours at the Manor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieJ02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

chambercombe manor is well worth a visit there is so much of interest the tour around the house was led by a lady whos storys about how the house evolved and the people who lived there over the years was fascinating. You also have a tea room with outside patio area and very nice gardens to stroll around .If you get a chance to visit i suggest you do .Dogs allowed in the gardens on a lead which is also a bonus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stevecasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambercombe Manor also viewed

 

Been to Chambercombe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing