We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Mullacott Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mullacott Farm
Ranked #20 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and two daughters for three nights in August. The room we had was number 2 and it was spacious and very comfortable with a large patio area to rear. The cooked breakfasts were fantastic, (I bought some of the sausages they make to take home with me they were so good) and it was very enjoyable chatting to Caroline every morning. She and Alison and Adrian are very warm, down to earth people who obviously enjoy running a working farm and providing accommodation of a high standard. My daughter took advantage of the stables next door and enjoyed some horse riding. The farm is very easy to find, yards from the main road into Ilfracombe, which is five minutes drive down the hill. I do not understand the odd bad review on here. Whether people expect a five star hotel I'm not sure. Mullacott Farm isn't that, but it is five star farmhouse accommodation. I thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the B&B for one night on the 13 September 2013 before heading to Lundy Island the next morning. We received a warm welcome despite arriving later than intended due to traffic and weather. The accommodation was very clean, very homely and spacious. All our needs were catered for. Booking was made over the phone and was very easy. Excellent value for money. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and the process for getting to the ferry etc. We were able to leave our car safely parked at the farm whilst on Lundy island...a real bonus. The breakfast...full English.... scrummy and healthy....with great service and good conversation. Would certainly stay again if in the area. Although we didn't partake...the farm had a range of activities to keep families entertained and engaged.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stb1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was a shame. We were on our way from Bath to Cornwall and needed a half way point. On arrival we were greeted by an uninterested youth whom didn't seem enthused that people had arrived but once we met the owner and was shown to our rooms it was perfect. The room we stayed in had an adjourning room attached with a door in between. It was perfect for us as we were travelling with our parents and our son could walk in between rooms without walking into the hallway.

The farm was great for him to see and pat the animals. In the morning we had a choice of a hot or cold breakfast. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his bacon and eggs.

the farm was a bit of a drive to the closet town but it was all easy to get to and find. We definitely could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domenica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for just the 1 night as we had stayed for 2 nights at a hotel in Ilfracombe and wanted to extend our holiday slightly. This is a lovely place; we stayed in room 6 which is on the first floor. The beds were very comfortable and my two children really enjoyed exploring the farm. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were very welcoming. I would definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for a 2 night break with our 4 year old granddaughter. Chose this place because it was a farm and rural. Granddaughter was able to feed the pigs her leftover toast after breakfast, which gave her great pleasure.
The room was clean, modern and comfortable - only downside was whoever slept above us, walked around a lot, particularly during the night which disturbed mine and my husband's sleep because of the creaking floorboards!
The breakfast was superb, as a vegetarian, mine was a lovely suprise and fulfilling.
Very friendly owners and staff. Beautiful setting, although I could not see the sea!

Room Tip: Although you have a patio when staying in a ground floor room, I would stay on the first floor due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedee_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a two night short break. Our room was lovely, cosy and very clean. Bathroom and shower were the same.
I don't understand why I am reading a review about poor breakfast. Our two breakfasts were lovely and the home grown produce superb.
The rooms do have creaky floors and sound does travel, but hopefully all guests are considerate and try to keep the noise down.
We will hopefully return as it is value for money, hosts are welcoming and friendly and the accommodation is in an ideal area for Woolacombe and Ilfracombe.
Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have reluctantly returned from a wonderful week in Devon, made all the more special by the standard of service and breakfast at Mullacott Farm. We had both ground floor rooms. The rooms were large and spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated in traditional cottage style and cleaned daily to a very high standard. All disablility requirements were met with a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would 100% recommend this accomodation to anyone with a disabled child.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are ideal for disabled access, and people who wish to books two rooms and spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
2.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
2.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullacott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullacott Farm

Address: Mullacott Farm Mullacott Cross, Ilfracombe EX34 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $80 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mullacott Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run working farm, with many animals. Converted barn adjacent to farmhouse. Ideal base for beach, walking riding, near Woolacombe, Ilfracombe, Exmoor and beyond. All rooms have en-suite, colour T.V., hospitality tray, own key/ access at all times. Scrumptious farm-produced breakfast, including, our own sausages, bacon and free-range eggs, complements high standards of cleanliness and comfort. Children welcome, cot/highchair available; ground floor available. Rooms can be double, twin, single or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mullacott Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullacott Farm Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing