We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for cyclists”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mullacott Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mullacott Farm
Ranked #21 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pershore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for cyclists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Recently spent 5 days cycling around Devon and Cornwall and Mullacott Farm was perfect for 1st and last night stays. Not only did we enjoy lovely accommodation but we had the all important secure bike storage with use of a locked barn and were able to leave the car at the farm whilst we went off for 5 days. We stayed in the B and B, but the farm also catered for caravans, camping and had a camping barn so would be perfect for cycling groups with people being able to select accommodation to suit their budget and needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJC053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a family get together and found the B&B lovely. The room had a double and single bed plus 2 comfy chairs and plenty of space. The farm is lovely and it's close to lots of beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were going to camp £7pppn but to stay in the barn was £8.50 pppn, so we stayed in the barn which had kitchen electric etc, comfy mattresses to sleep on for 2 nights. lovely location short drive to Woolacombe and close by to Ilfracombe. Everyone ver nice and accomadating, showers brilliant, really clean. an absolute bargain. we had an amazing time <3..

Room Tip: keep £1 coins for electric (if needed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookieljhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

arrived Monday eve for a short stay camping with my family was a great site and great welcome i would and will recommend this place to everyone and anyone. i will be back with my family again even my 10mth old liked it she was better than when she is at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty8207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Absolute beautiful weekend stay at Swallow Barn B&B! I stayed with my daughter in a en-suite room with a double & single bed which were both very comfortable. It was very handy as we love our riding & the riding stables were only a few minutes walk around the corner. The room was full of human essentials inc: hairdryer, flat screen TV, towels, soap, kettle, mugs & all the different teas you could want. Our hosts were just brilliant, they treated you amazingly. The most important was the feeling you could 'come & go as you please', this was essential for us. They also didn't mind our rather muddy boots, but they did have a tray for us to keep them away from the other residents. The breakfast each morning was brilliant, couldn't fault their fry up at all, everything was cooked to perfection. On the side were also a few kinds of cereals to please everyone's taste-buds. The whole building & rooms were immaculately cleaned every morning & as the cleaner had a daughter who rode was surprisingly well spoken about all things horsey! Will defiantly be returning in the future, they made us feel very welcome!
Recommend Swallow Barn B&B to anyone & everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrownOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just spent a very comfortable weekend in Swallow Barn B&B. Our welcome was warm and informative, and we were handed our keys with the all-important - to us - "come and go as you please".
The ensuite room contained a comfortable double and a single bed, TV, plus kettle and a variety of drinks, not to mention leaflets for various local attractions in the dresser drawer, and I must say the room was a generous size. We loved the velux window above the beds!
The rural location was gorgeous, but the magnificent beach at Woolacombe was less than ten minutes away in one direction, with Ilfracombe about five minutes the other way. For the first night the sky was completely clear, and the absence of light pollution made a look up at the sky very rewarding.
The only downside we found to our room was the ease with which we heard conversations from the strangers staying in the adjoining and connected room. I expect their problem was how to drown out our snoring at 3am! - although we never heard a peep from the occupied rooms opposite ours.
The breakfast experience offered us a wide choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and juice, and our hosts brought us our full English, hot drinks and toast. On the second day they remembered our special requests from the first morning, which is entirely to their credit. It didn't really affect us on a weekend stay, but the only slight niggle we felt with breakfast was the limited timeframe that the cooked element was on offer, from the relatively late 8.30am. I understand completely why they do it - otherwise someone would be staffing the kitchen half the morning - but I felt a little pressured not to miss the 20 minute slot.
Having said that, the little moans are just that: little. Overall we had a great time there. We felt welcome, with hosts who were knowledgeable about the locality and happy to answer questions. The room felt relaxing to be in, and the breakfast was mainly sourced from the farm, and cooked to your taste.
Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeStargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just stayed at Mullacott Farm with our daughter and grandaughter and what a fantastic stay had by us all. The welcome was warm and inviting in fab surroundings. We had adjoining rooms which worked out great and when I say rooms they were more like suites where we could sit on an evening with a glass of wine without feeling like we were just stuck in our bedroom. The rooms and bathrooms where immaculate and well catered for. Breakfast was first class and catered for all our taste. Our hosts were so friendly, offering local info and even discount vouchers for attractions. To be able to take our grandaughter to meet the farm animals at the end of a busy day was a treat. Will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
2.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wentworth House
Wentworth House
#29 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Score Valley Country House
Score Valley Country House
#23 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#9 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullacott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullacott Farm

Property: Mullacott Farm
Address: Mullacott Farm Mullacott Cross, Ilfracombe EX34 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mullacott Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run working farm, with many animals. Converted barn adjacent to farmhouse. Ideal base for beach, walking riding, near Woolacombe, Ilfracombe, Exmoor and beyond. All rooms have en-suite, colour T.V., hospitality tray, own key/ access at all times. Scrumptious farm-produced breakfast, including, our own sausages, bacon and free-range eggs, complements high standards of cleanliness and comfort. Children welcome, cot/highchair available; ground floor available. Rooms can be double, twin, single or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, PitchUp and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mullacott Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullacott Farm Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing