We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dine in fish and chips”

The Ilfracombe Fryer
Ranked #49 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An 80 seater restaurant & take away business located on the promenade with views out over the Bristol channel and only 2 minutes walk from the Landmark Theatre & car park.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dine in fish and chips”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Family friendly and good food. We particularly like the crispy chips and the fish is good too. Dining in is great to make more of an event of your trip here and you get a full selection of sauces to accompany your meal. We will be back and recommend the fryer to other customers too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Windladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    75
    32
    11
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Seaside Fish & Chips”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Ate here whilst on a day out visiting ilfracombe. Decided to eat here as there was a queue and it was down in the centre of ilfracombe so we could take away and eat outside. Good sized portions of freshly cooked fish and chips. Nice batter and plenty of chips and the fillet of fish was well cooked and of a good size. Lots of competition around it but certainly seemed to hold it's own in the popularity stakes. Plenty of benches outside across the road to sit and enjoy your lunch on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flumph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Blown away”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Me and my partner were looking for a place to eat and stumbled across this place. As we walked in we were greeted very politely by the chef and one waitress who were very friendly xx normally u don't expect much from a chippy but the food was exceptional full of flavour and cooked to order so was very fresh and hot xxx we were only in ilfracombe for the one night and am very glad we found tis restaurant xx I am going back for one more night at the end of the month and without question I will be visiting here again xxxx superb *****

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamWrey1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely chippy”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A lovely spotless chip shop /restaurant with quality tasty produce. A bit pricy but worth it. The views are amazing staff friendly and quick service. We had the fisher mans combo fish chips mushy peas and a drink for £7.45.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fish and chip shop with no chips”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

all I wanted was a small chips to takeaway. 1 hour before closing and no more chips. never heard of a fish and chip shop running out of chips. Its not even busy this time of the year. no signup to say anything. they were still open Why????????????

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ilfracombe Fryer also viewed

 

Been to The Ilfracombe Fryer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing