We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fresh Fish”

The Ilfracombe Fryer
Ranked #40 of 118 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An 80 seater restaurant & take away business located on the promenade with views out over the Bristol channel and only 2 minutes walk from the Landmark Theatre & car park.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

The cod we had was fresh and moist in a light batter and cooked to order. The chips were made from good quality potatoes. Very enjoyable.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hkwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    75
    32
    10
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Eight of us dropped in for lunch and enjoyed delicious fresh fish and chips. Service was very attentive. Two of our party not partial to battered fish were provided with grilled fish without fuss. Not a cheap chippy, but well worth the money. Would definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We ate our meal in the restaurant which was a little pricey if i am honest,it would of been half the price to take it on the beach. However it was raining,service very good and the food was excellent,all cooked fresh and you could tell the fish was very fresh. Would certainly return if in the area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckystarWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips (and mushy peas)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Called "on spec" with four family members. Four ordered cod & chips and one ordered haddock. Food was piping hot, served in a very short time and the mushy pears were outstanding. Pleasantly surprised at the amount shown on the bill - worth every penny.

Next time I'm in Ilfracombe - I'll be back in to the Ilfracombe Fryer - it takes some beating - highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Delicious and would certainly reccommend. Only downside is value, small portions for big prices £13.00 for two medium fish and chips, however very tasty so we would certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carly_bowles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ilfracombe Fryer also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to The Ilfracombe Fryer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing