We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable meal”

Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Group of eight of us ate here on Wed 13th August, we all enjoyed our choices. I had the moules starter followed by half a lobster, absolutely delicious. Husband had hake with samphire (I don't like samphire but I'm sure they would have provided an alternative if asked). Couldn't manage a pud as too full :( others did and again were pronounced excellent. None of us had any issues about portion size. Good friendly, attentive service, well kept real ale, and all at a very reasonable price per head. Best meal we had during our stay in Devon. Would definitely eat there again - need to book as very popular with the locals.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    148
    51
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had been recommended to go to this restaurant by some locals while on holiday a few years ago and must say they were not wrong the staff are very friendly and the food is the best for both taste and cost in the area and we make sure eat here when ever we visit the area which is at least twice a year and have also not hesitated to recommend friends and family who have holidayed in the area a little gem

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Splish splash splosh”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Ate there twice whilst on hols. Both times nice welcome, good ambiance and good service. First time food was great. Second time less so (tho our children, 5 and 7, loved both). Second time the starters and sweet potato fries were lovely but adults' mains were underwhelming (salmon and monkfish jungle curry, and moroccan lamb)... I was very sick in middle of night and suspect my curry (tho of course I could be wrong).

Main reason for review tho is the sploshing porn photos in the toilets. What the actual farp is that about?? If you dont want to explain it (lie) to your young children, like I had to, then avoid the loos!

Helpful?
Thank Jon-n-Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We went here twice on our holidays. The food was lovely, very tasty,well cooked and good portions without been to big. The onion rings were the best I have had in a long time. The puddings,especially the cheese cake,were delicious. The staff were helpful and pleasant without being over-bearing and the bill was good for such lovely food. If you choose to go here I think it would be best to book a table.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I don't normally give negative reviews, but after reading reviews of this restaurant and going, I feel the need to be honest, our first 3 choices of food where not available, my son ordered a child's fish pie which was very good, I had lasagne which was smaller than my sons portion and the chips looked like the last few out of the pan, I asked for more chips which I received, but I was charged for them, my wife's meal was chilli which was ok but nothing special, looking around the restaurant some of the meals looked very nice but ours was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Woodys67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing