We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hele Billy's”

Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hele Billy's”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely meal service was brilliant and the food was excellent. They couldnt be more accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    152
    55
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our team visited this venue for our annual skittle team dinner.

The staff were very accommodating, including rearranging half the dining room to fit extra diners who hadn't said they were coming

The food was good quality, and generously portioned. A few of the team struggled to finish the mixed grill, especially after having a starter as well.

Parking is not brilliant for the restaurant, but it's not a massive walk from Ilfracombe (although it might be on the way back after a mixed grill) or a few minutes by taxi.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a family celebration here and had a great night. Food was good and service excellent. Good choice on menu, cater well for vegetarians too! We have always enjoyed this restaurant and will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved the meal here. Traditional food cooked well and served well. will be back to enjoy another one soon. Thanks

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank markymillions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place and dog friendly too!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a week in Ilfracombe with our dog, Pepsi. We were delighted to find somewhere that not only served lovely food but also had seating in a very warm and inviting bar area where we were able to take our pooch! As dog owners we are used to feeling like Lepers in a less inviting space. The food was really great, the fish platter was amazing and the mussels were cooked to perfection. This is the first time I have ever recommended a place on return from hols with Pepsi and we've had her for 6 years. we had one night in the restaurant too as my parents dog sat for us one evening which was lovely too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank chivesDaventryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing