We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. There are better beaches. But worth a look”
Review of Tunnels Beaches

Tunnels Beaches
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK. There are better beaches. But worth a look”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We only visited to see the tunnels so the beaches were not important, but then having paid for access, it was a little disappointing that only one of the two beaches was accessible as the other had been closed for a wedding ( we were told before we handed over any money).

Spent about 15 minutes there so not the greatest value for money. The beaches are small and comprised of fine black gravel rather than sand but the water looked good for bathers. In fine weather i would imagine the place would be very crowded. At this time of year, there is very little to hold your attention.

The rather short time it takes you to travel through the tunnels is offset by the time it takes to read the many well presented and interesting information panels.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KevinLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    312
    136
    55
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Attendend a Wedding”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was tucked in a cliff, a bit smaller than i thought it might be, but the food we had, and the little touches that were for the Bride,and Groom was nice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank neilmowglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I cant stop thinking about this place!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Me my dad and my brother came to ilfracombe for a mini holiday in august 2012 and we visited tunnel beaches, i loved this place so much! its so relaxed and so unique! Me and my boyfriend have booked a holiday near ilfracombe in march for our 4 year anniversary and i really wanted to take him to tunnel beaches but its closed in march :( which is a shame! this place is definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding, shame about the weather.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Attended a friends wedding and reception and the venue is superb. The food was great and the general atmosphere was fantastic. On a sunny day it would have been beyond perfect but it was a little wet and windy to say the least, however it didn't dampen anyones spirits. If you want a totally unique place to tie the knot this is it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Plymbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST COKER
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Venue”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our daughter and son in law held their wedding here in August, it is the most romantic and stunningingly beautiful venue that I have been to ( during the ceremony waves crashed against the rocks adding to the atmosphere).
Everthing happened smoothly, staff were attentive and discreet, the food was unusual (not your usual wedding fare) and the whole ambience was relaxed and VERY SPECIAL.
Well done and thank you to Jamie and colleagues, an amazing day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SUE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tunnels Beaches also viewed

 

Been to Tunnels Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing