We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olive Branch
Ranked #8 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just wanted to write to say thank you to The Olive Branch for a wonderful stay in Ilfracombe. The room was excellent, the service was friendly and the extra touches made the whole experience very enjoyable.

This stay was part of our honeymoon in Devon and it lived up to all our expectations and hopes

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
123
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We only had one night there but hey, what a lovely room; good view, very spacious, (some places would've made two rooms!), comfortable bed, all home comforts and above all clean. Breakfast was good too. The attached restaurant was very good too with a 15% discount for guests! Need to book though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilternprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Olive Branch for new year 2011. The owners Paul and Carol are friendly and welcoming, have a lot of time for their guests, and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Really comfy room with a great view of the beautiful harbour just down the hill. A cosy, rustic style but with modern features - big TV and DVD player, and a wet room with a brilliant shower. The breakfast was also excellent, cooked by Paul himself and served in the nice restaurant downstairs. On new year's day we were greeted in the restaurant with the usual juices, coffees and teas, as well as champagne if you wanted to carry on the celebrations, and headache tablets which I thought was fantastic! I recommend the Olive Branch as I doubt you'd get better service or a more characterful building. I have very fond memories of staying there and would definitely choose it again if I return to Ilfracombe, which I hope to one day!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our room was very clean, the beds comfortable but that's all. The stairs to the rooms were not a problem for us but could be for more infirm guests. We had a room on the 2nd floor and felt uncomfortable with the lack of emergency escape route. The wet room or more apt description would be wet cupboard, was totally inadequate for my 6ft 3in husband!
The wardrobe consisted of a 4ft x 1ft cupboard. The breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal in the Olive Room Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFAngieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights having come down for a wedding. Our room was easily one of the best rooms we've ever stayed in with impressive decor, very spacious, a nice bathroom and big TV!

The couple that own the place were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very tasty!

We'd happily stay here again and really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended this place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanFlynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We came here for 3 nights for a wedding and we were so glad we chose The Olive Branch. We were greeted by the lovely owners who work hard to make sure you don't have to. The breakfast in the morning is personal and comfortable in the adjoining Olive Branch restaurant.

The room was everything we hoped for.. a large, luxury bed which you can see the sea views from. It was clean and presented to a high spec. There was even a DVD player in, and although we scoffed wondering who would have the time to use it, we did after one too many the night before! It was great.

We did stay for dinner as there is a promotion for 10% off your food bill if you are a resident and we were certainly not disappointed. Fresh cooked food with service with a smile. Would definately recommend.

Although car parking isn't provided there is a long stay car park a 5 minute walk down the road, which costs £3.10 per 24 hours - really not bad value!

So, enjoy your break here and have a small bit of luxury in a seaside town!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a 2 night stay and the welcoming couldn't have been better. The room was very clean and organised with all the required B&B accessories. Nice view of the harbour and Paul & Carole couldn't do enough for us with recommendations and ensuring we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was hearty and very tasty and started the day off great. The overall experience was excellent and would fully recommend a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#3 of 53 in Ilfracombe
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#6 of 53 in Ilfracombe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Property: The Olive Branch
Address: 56 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olive Branch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing