We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take the kids”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Larkstone Family Park & Gardens
Ranked #25 of 38 things to do in Ilfracombe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a fully licensed cafe and function venue offering stunning views across Ilfracombe Harbour and the sea to Wales. We have a range of lawn games from putting to grass court tennis, croquet to bowls, all with refreshments from cream teas to full sunset dinners. With 30 indoor covers, a log fire for the cooler days and sunset dining on the lawns overlooking some of the most picturesque coastline in Britain. We have catered for many functions from weddings to 40th birthday parties to family gatherings.We look forward to welcoming you.....
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to take the kids”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's near car parks, or walk to it from the harbour plenty to occupy kids for a few hours and enjoy lunch with lovely views

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lin2Ilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkstoneCafe, Owner at Larkstone Family Park & Gardens, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review Larkstone. We are glad you enjoyrd your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    6
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Found this place by accident while out exploring Ilfracombe. Greatest chocolate cake ever, great service, really enjoyed the lawn games! All this with a beautiful view of the sea. Set the standard!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Park & Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your visit to Larkstone and our home baked chocolate cake. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for kids birthdays”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful setting - had a children's party here and the friendly staff, lovely setting and great home cooked food for great value, eg home made fish goujons, crunchy vegetables etc. Amazing value for a kids party - indoor and outdoor areas to cater for all weather.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllieKaballieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Park & Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we have so much fun running the children's parties and get a lot of pleasure knowing that the children had fun too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“total gem”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a great find! We were visiting Ilfracombe and we had been body-boarding most of the day near Croyde . We just wanted somewhere to eat with a view. The sun seemed to have set on the rest of Ilfracombe and we walked back up the hill, and Larkstone was bathed in beautiful sunshine and had amazing views out over the sea. To be honest I thought the food would be average, but it was TOTALLY delicious. Great wine, and an amazing cooked to order big chunky burger, with delicious onion rings. It seems like they begin with really great ingredients and we could tell. We had wine, and the guys that owned it were so lovely and really friendly. All round a fantastic find and I would definitely come back with my brood of children!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWJ396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theadds, Manager at Larkstone Family Park & Gardens, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Larkstone and we look forward to seeing you again with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite disapointed”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited with my family. After being given a menu at the door we were left just sitting in the garden. After 30 minutes went by and still no one came to take our order, we simply left unnoticed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wentworth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Park & Gardens, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are sincerely sorry for our lack of service, we like to think this was a genuine one off experience because all of our customers are important to us. We hope you will re-visit Larkstone to try our great food as we are confident you will not be disappointed again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkstone Family Park & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Larkstone Family Park & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing