We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely homely atmosphere”
Review of Basils - CLOSED

Basils
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Tel No. 01271 862823 email - lindsay.basils@yahoo.co.uk
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely homely atmosphere”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a lovely small homely restaurant, where the informality is enhanced by the welcome from Lindsay as you enter the door

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank varley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mixed Up”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The night before it had been busy. We were the only customers. Warm welcome, nice setting, atmospheric music. Lots of people looked at the menu then walked on. I don't expect 'house wine' to come from grapes in the back garden but 'pate maison' is a different matter- was it 'maison tesco'? I expected home made!
Sweet potato soup- nicely spiced, thai chicken curry did the business, but Moules Marinieres cooked in more than a pint of creamed 'liquid' meant that those poor little mussels that were at the bottom of the pot were well and truly stewed by the time I got to them. I would have thought 300ml- hopefully wine or cider- plus some cream would have produced a more concentrated and tasty liquor
A pleasant enough evening- but I'd think twice about going back

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taff515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasilIlfracombe, Owner at Basils, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I'm very sorry to read your review as it it is quite far from the truth! Our pate IS homemade, I suppose we could take it as a complement that you presume it was bought, however we are sorry that you wrote this without asking at the time!! In fact only last night we had a customer say it had to be homemade as it was so tasty, still everyone to their own.

Your comment on the mussels was totally misleading our moules mariniere are cooked in a sauvignon blanc white wine ( off our wine list not a cheap wine) with cream added at the end of cooking. If we indeed used a pint of wine we would make no profit on the dish!! All I can suggest is that the traditional mussel pots that we use are quite deep so that there appears to be more liquid & if you took your time eating them they carry on cooking as the pots hold their heat. I have to say we have so many customers praise them we were very surprised at your comments & I felt compelled to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“20th out of 49 what rubbish”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Basils should be in the top 10!!!! Booked there at Easter and had a wonderful meal. The service was excellent and the food sublime and it was reasonably priced. This was our 2nd visit and we will definately go again when next in Ilfracombe. In fact if we are anywhere within 20 miles we would consider the drive well worth while!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harranold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate meal for two”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

small, intimate restaurant. simple menu with well-prepared, delicious food. Very reasonable prices. Would definitely go back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_J191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful service”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Good selection on the menu, would recommend the white bait in particular. Kev and Lynsey looked after us very well. If you come to Ilfracombe, eat at Basils !!!

Helpful?
Thank AlanP-Ilfracombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basils also viewed

West Down, Ilfracombe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing