We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location and experience amazing, fairly basic accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Widmouth Farm Cottages
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“location and experience amazing, fairly basic accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I would agree with the other reviewer on here who was a little disappointed with the accommodation.We found our cottage ('Robin') well equipped and clean but very small(even for two) and some of the furniture is a lttle dated and tired. However, the location makes up for everything with a short walk to the private beach and direct access to the coast path. The owners are friendly, attentive and enthusiastic. There are some nice touches souch as home cooked meals and local produce available to buy.
I think the cottages are squarely aimed at dog and child friendly holidays and to that end i would say they are a great success

Room Tip: book the largest cottage you can afford
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank crid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Yes, you are right, our target markets are: families, dog walkers and people who want homely comfortable accommodation in the most breathtakingly beautiful setting. 10 of our properties are 3* graded and only one, Woodpecker Lodge, is more luxurious and 4* graded. All our 10 original properties are built circa 1800 or built on the foundations of old buildings, so the individual room sizes are fairly small, however, they are all photographed and available to see on our website. We would rather 'under sell' and 'over deliver' and we do describe our cottages accurately, informing guests booking Robin and Wren Cottages (the 2 one bedroom cottages) that they are 'cosy' and have 'very limited storage space'. However, having said that, we have many, many regular visitors who come with 2 adults and 2 dogs and re-book these particular cottages year after year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    13
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed for 4 days in Partridge cottage for our first family holiday with our 2 young children. The cottage was warm and cosy with everything you need and more, including coal gas burner, books, board games, etc, etc. Cottage spotless and beds & furniture comfy. The location itself is absolutely magical, with a farm to wander about, a private ‘pirates cove’ beach and a headland with an old coastguards lookout on top to enjoy panoramic coastal views. The kids loved feeding the Alpacas, sheep, pigs, chickens, ducks and collecting the eggs every morning with ‘farmer Jeremy’. Jeremy also generously gave us fresh eggs to try when they were available and we sampled Bantam, Chicken, Duck and Turkey. Elizabeth and Jeremy create a relaxed atmosphere and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Examples include... us returning from the beach on our first morning to find fresh flowers picked from the garden in our cottage and also whilst a bit lost carrying my 2 kids through the gorse on the headland looking for the coastguards lookout, Jeremy spotted me and climbed all the way up to show us the way and whilst there, to tell us some fascinating local history re smugglers and mafia crabbers! We did not leave the farm much as there was so much to do, but Combe Martin is a lovely village to visit and there are tons of local attractions to keep older kids occupied. We had a magical stay and will be coming back year on year. Many thanks to Jeremy & Elizabeth!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you had such a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there previously, and we all returned this year. It is a fantastic place for children, with great on-site amenities like the play area where they quickly meet children their own age, and the large utility room which has games, jigsaws, beach equipment and ice cream!! Every morning except sundays there is animal feeding with Jeremy the farmer, who leads the children around the farm to feed pigs, alpacas, lambs, chickens, ducks, rabbits, turkey and goats and offers up lots of information about them on the way. The children can also collect eggs from the chickens, ducks and the turkey for breakfast!

The private beach is just wonderful whether it is high tide or low tide. At low tide there are plenty of rock pools to fish in and rocks to scramble across and beach shoes are a MUST for this.

Combe Martin and Ilfracombe are in easy reach for a walk about.

All in all this is a lovely place for a holiday and I would happily go back. Jeremy and Elizabeth are fantastic hosts who will look after you very well.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anderinmakes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thanks so much for the review! We are really pleased you made the most of our wonderful beach, even when the tide was in, enjoying the rock pools and all one can see there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent a fairly rainy week in Pheasant cottage. The children (2 and 6) loved feeding the animals in the morning. Feeding alpacas and collecting eggs from ducks and chickens were particular favourites. The cottages have a small private beach (grey sand and rockpools) which was ideal for a quiet small-scale introduction to the seaside, and was perfect for building sandcastles with small rivers running around them.

Watermouth Castle just up the road is a good option for small children if it's too cold for the beach, Over 8's will be bored silly.

As far as the quality of the accommodation goes, it's a country cottage, not a smart hotel. The beds were clean and comfortable, and whilst the living/dining area did have a faint aroma of dog, it wasn't very noticeable or objectionable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_need_a_unique_name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
So sorry about the 'faint aroma of dog'. It is sometimes difficult after a wet week to completely remove the 'scent' in the short time we have between 'check-out' and 'arrival'. However, if visitors only tell us, we will always come back whilst they are out and have another cleaning session, change rugs and replace them with clean ones, etc. So I am glad it didn't spoil your holiday and if you come back again and find this, please just tell us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked last minute for a Monday-Friday stay at Widmouth Farm Cottages and the only cottage available was Swallow Cottage. The owner, Elizabeth was very helpful on the phone and sent me all the information we needed.

The farm was lovely, better than we had expected, the setting is beautiful and private beach was a real bonus. The surroundings were very picturesque and there was plenty of space for picnics and exploring, it was also a very peaceful setting and it was lovely to wake up to the sound of the animals and birds.

The cottage we stayed in was compact, but it was very clean and had everything we needed; the owners were really thoughtful and allowed us to arrive late as we had a long journey, there was milk in the fridge and instructions for everything in the cottage plus a nice big file of local info to help plan our stay.

Staying with two young children was no problem at all, and Elizabeth provided a highchair and stair gate for us and we felt that the children were very welcome on the farm. Every morning Jeremy took a group of guests and children around the farm to feed all the animals, this was good fun and really insightful for the children. The alpacas were very cheeky, and the fresh eggs yummy!

Some home cooked meals were available from the freezer in the utility room, this was a great bonus if you want to stay in but still want to have a bit of a break from cooking, they were reasonably priced and really tasty.

The location was ideal for us with fun days out a short drive away and fantastic beaches of Woolacombe and Croyde nearby, there was certainly things we didn’t have time to do and will save for another holiday.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Swallow Cottage was compact but was fine for two adults and two small children, there were other lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Booked the cottage for a get away from it all break for my husband and myself.
Cottage was comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Location is fantastic, beautiful scenery and walks right from your door step.
The farm is excellent for children and Jeremy (the farmer) involves them with feeding and learning about the animals if they want to.
The private beach is so quiet and peaceful.
Ideal base for touring north devon with Ilfracombe and Coombe Martin on your doorstep and Woolacombe Lynton and Lynmouth within an easy half hour drive.
Weather was not that good whilst we were there but we still had a really good time and certainly feel better for the break and the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was a last minute booking and to be able to book a short stay (3 nights) on line in July in Devon was a real find! Jeremy and Elizabeth are wonderful hosts and this is a working farm where you can meet the animals and feed them - great for children (and some of us adults if we managed to get up for 9am). The cockerel and turkey compete to wake you up but that is really the only "noise" here - one we personally like. There is a small private beach which is a delight to walk to. We were travelling with our dog Anouk, a large Northern Inuit. She was made very welcome and Jeremy and Elizabeth have their own dogs too.

We loved the little touches - we arrived late on a Friday evening and whilst we had remembered to bring tea bags and milk there was a jug of milk in the fridge, enough tea bags for a couple of days and enough washing up liquid to get you by until you shop. We stay in lots of self catering places, inns etc but this is the first time I have been anywhere where you have this kind of thoughtfulness. There was a lovely bottle of apple juice from West Lake, normally Jeremy told us it would have been one of their own as they have several orchards and press their own too but had run out currently. Maybe next time we will get to sample this!

We stayed in Swallow cottage, which sleeps three. This is comapct living and works if you are planning on a short break or are out most days as we were. However you have all you need to cater for yourself and again the thoughtfulness extends to freshly frozen food supplies and an honesty box in the utility room - we enjoyed ice cream late one night from here, yummy.

A real peaceful find in North Devon away from the tourist mayhem but within easy reach of all attractions and beaches like Woolacombe bay.

We would definitely stay here again. There are a few cottages to choose from on the complex and the environment is family orientated so great whether you are single, couple or family and also with or without dogs.

Room Tip: Swallow cottage worked for us, check out the website to learn about what else is on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon_Fae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for making time to write a review! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#4 of 8 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#1 of 26 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widmouth Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widmouth Farm Cottages

Property: Widmouth Farm Cottages
Address: Watermouth, Ilfracombe EX34 9RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widmouth Farm Cottages is between Ilfracombe and Combe Martin, the gateway to Exmoor, on the North Devon coast. We have spectacular views overlooking wonderful Watermouth Cove and 35 acres of headland, woodland and a private beach on the Devon National Heritage Coastline. Widmouth Farm Cottages is in an area of outstanding natural beauty, and offers the perfect self catering holiday for families and people of all ages. Our private beach is just 500 yards from the cottages and a two minute walk through the sheep fields! It is large and sandy for about 2 hours either side of low tide. Our regular visitors return to our self-catering holiday cottages to walk, fish, play golf, kayak, horse ride, use our lovely beach or simply relax in this peaceful, tranquil setting. We are also only six miles from Woolacombe Beach, voted the UKs best beach for the second year running! Children are welcome and so are dogs. We have regular animal feeding & handling sessions for visitors who wish to join in. This usually includes the sheep, goats, alpacas, pigs, chickens, ducks. For the keen fisherman, it is the perfect place to find some hidden spots, with our private beach or beautiful coastline there are plenty of places to find peace and quiet and fish until your hearts content!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Widmouth Farm Cottages Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing