We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly atmosphere and great food”
Review of Grass Roots Cafe

Grass Roots Cafe
Ranked #44 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

this was our first visit to Grassroots cafe and it wont be our last! we really enjoyed the great veggie food and the staff were very friendly and welcming, will definatly be going back again very soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyRay1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum, yum”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at this cafe both during the day and in the evening on several occasions. The food is always consistently good, during the day the homemade cheese scones and chilli jam are wonderful and in the evening the three course meals are yummy and such good value. You always come away feeling full.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Javale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“brilliant vegetarian restaurant!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This relaxed cafe/restaurant in the main High Street is a great find. The food is wholesome, tasty and the portions generous. Service is delightful. I have had several evening meals £12 per person and bring your own alcohol with £1 per person corkage.

I would recommend to both vegetarians and my carnivore friends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank at_devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply (one of!) the Best”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

a) I admit we're local b) yup, we're veggie anyway c) there's hardly any opposition locally for veggie food ....... BUT nonetheless, this place can hold its own to any veggie restaurant anywhere (and we've been to a few). After a pretty impressive wodge of the coastal path, we made our way to Ilfracombe bus station to catch a bus back to B'ple - a 2-hour wait (rural bus services eh?). Walked into town - saw Grassroots Cafe - went in for a 'snack' - WOW. A snack became a small meal, became a meal. The options are fantastic; I wanted a bit of each; every mouthful a sheer delight. So I booked a whole group of friends in for an exclusive Christmas celebration nosh - and it was deliriously tasty and a fabulous evening all round. We cannot recommend Grassroots Cafe highly enough. Get yourselves there!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food good, but service a bit average”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The food here was good, the coffee could have been better (not strong enough), but the service was hopeless. The staff were pleasant, not rude or anything, but really didn't have a clue about good customer service in a cafe / restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dlebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grass Roots Cafe also viewed

Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Grass Roots Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing