We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great!”
Review of The Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Towers Hotel
Ranked #12 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2009

stayed in room 7 with large en-suite and a reasonably sized main bedroom. Tracey (owner) was extremely helpful and made great breakfasts. Room was clean and view was great! Would definately stay there again , great stay.TO THE TOWERS OWNERS ... update your website with the new room pictures! thankss

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theardsDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

The location was ideal for us. It was very quiet but near enough to walk into Ilfracombe and also to Hele Bay. It is an ideal location for the many coastal walks. Our room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean throughout our stay. Lots of small thoughtful touches to make the stay more comfortable. There was even a visitor's folder with all the best restaurants and attractions in it. Trish and John were excellent hosts, they were very friendly and helpful. They catered for our every need and we couldn't have been made more welcome. Breakfast's were of a very high standard, delicious, varied and very well prepared. The service was fantastic. We couldn't fault anything about the Towers and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecclesfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

This has to rank as one of our best short breaks ever. Tricia and John run this lovely hotel/guest house. They were so very welcoming and friendly and couldn't be more helpful with where to walk and where to eat etc. Our room had a side view of the hillside as well as the harbour & sea. It was very light and airy and was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The breakfasts were great and set us up all day. There are lots of places to visit and the walking is exceptional in this area. This holiday was exceptionally good and I would recommend The Towers to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Had a good feeling about the hotel when I phoned to book after reading reviews. When we arrived we weren't disappointed in any way. Tricia made us feel very welcome and our room with a big window overlooking the sea was wonderful - very clean with everything we needed. The en-suite shower room was a little on the small side but immaculately clean.

The steep roads around toned up our leg muscles, but the 5 minute walk to a wonderful pub/restaurant (Hele Billys)recommended by Tricia was easy.

Breakfast was delicious and there was no way we'd have wanted to spoil it with baked beans (see earlier report).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngloAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Having just returned from a two night stay at The Towers we would like to say how good it was. Tricia was particularly helpful and friendly with good local knowledge and suggestions for restaurants. We had a long journey down to Devon and the tea and biscuits on our arrival was a lovely thought. Our room was the one at the top of the house and the views were fantastic. The bed was comfortable, the room very clean and bright and the bathroom was lovely. Breakfast also good and plenty of choice. Having not visited North Devon before we found we made the perfect choice both in accomodation and the area.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank R1P2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights recently, having done some research on Trip Advisor for hotels in the area. We choose The Towers as it was great value and had good reviews. On arrival we were not disappointed - the room was excellent - it had a sea view, was spacious and well maintained, plus the breakfast was great and staff very helpful. There is ample (free) parking in the grounds and we found the location convenient for exploring Ilfracombe and the surrounding area.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

North Devon has lots of activities to do in the surrounding area including surfing, hiking, cycling, horse-riding, scuba diving, wildlife-watching, fishing, and exploring.

My wife and I have just enjoyed a stay at the Towers Hotel in Ilfracombe, which is an ideal location for visiting north Devon. The hotel is a spectacular Victorian-style building with the slightly-over-the-top architecture which could only work in a building of this era.

The interior is kept in-style with the overall building, but is exceptionally clean and tidy. Even the Victorian features such as the high ceilings, covings and high skirting boards were in clean, good condition which must take a lot of work by the owners.

The centre of Ilfracombe is only 15 minutes walk away and offers a number of good places to eat (particularly "Smugglers" sea-food restaurant), as well as a theatre and a dramatically located chapel which is now a small (free to enter) museum.

Our room faced out across the Bristol Channel (on a clear day we could see across to South Wales) overlooking Ilfracombe harbour. As the Hotel was on the side of a hill above Ilfracombe, the view across the harbour was great (especially when it was all lit up at night).

The owners of the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, from taking our bags to our room, to looking after our surfing equipment in their own part of the hotel, to making breakfast early for us before our day trip to Lundy - we couldn't have asked for better hosts.

Breakfasts were good and included a variety of cerals, freshly made fruit salad, and full english breakfasts which were all of a high quality.

The only downside (and it is the only one) was the low water pressure in the en-suite shower. There again this is probably down more to the location rather than anything that the owners could actually fix.

Overall, a very very good hotel with great views and even better hosts. We will definitely be returning to the Towers in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zigzag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#16 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
2.7 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers Hotel

Address: Chambercombe Park Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $68 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing