We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
440
80
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
440
80
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war biscuits breakfast was excellent quiet location power shower stayed for one night excellent stay fresh fruit salad town centre at short notice great shower a great place to stay comfortable beds visiting ilfracombe lovely house ensuite bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Varley House has lots of charm and we enjoyed imagining recovering from the Boer War here (its original purpose). Beautiful views. Rod was really helpful and made the logistics of our short stay on Lundy possible, arriving later than ideal and then again to pick up the car, which we really appreciated. Nice breakfast, too. Would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Room 8 has a fantastic view.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of Varley house

It was good to welcome you to our establishment before your trip to Lundy, and glad that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our group of ten people were going to visit Lundy island and this well appointed guesthouse was an ideal first night stop over before boarding the ferry. Comfortable accommodation, cosy bar and lounge. Friendly host.
10-15minute walk down to town or taxi back up which cost us £3.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnandkaykeynsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you all and that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spacious rooms, nice extra touches like a chocolate on the pillow and a good breakfast with lots of choice. Our host is friendly and welcoming with helpful local advice. A great place to stay before and after a trip to Lundy, being a short walk (or taxi ride if you have luggage) to the quay. We are repeat visitors as it suits our needs perfectly.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you once again for your review of Varley house.

Good to meet you all again, and glad you enjoyed your stay either side of Lundy.
You also benefitted by contacting us direct and got the best rates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed overnight prior to a visit to Lundy, lovely house, good sized bedroom and comfy bed. relaxing lounge and bar where we grabbed a drink in the evening. Enjoyed a good breakfast before heading off to Lundy.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you all and that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

My wife & I stayed here for 5 nights. Nice bedroom & a sea view, tea/coffee facilities with biscuits & great sweets. Shower was excellent & the complementary toiletries. The owner was a good host & happy to have a chat about the area & give us an insight of good areas to visit. Breakfast
was fabulous, so good that I had the full English every morning whilst my wife had fresh fruit followed by poached eggs every morning. Great base to stay &the walk to the harbour was not far away. We would recommend this hotel & will be back again to stay in the future

Room tip: We were in room 1which has a lovely sea view from the bay window
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MARK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you both, and if you come back again to view properties, contact us direct to get the best rates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews