We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Easy Feeling”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We came down to see the Eagles tribute band play in Ilfracombe but the stay at Varley House was the icing on the cake. Clean Friendly Welcoming and so enjoyable that we booked another stay there ... I think that says it all. Best Breakfast in the County

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Like the nice touch of an Eagles song to use as the title for this review. It was nice to meet you all, and help you all enjoy your one night with us, especially helping to make your mum's time here.
we look forward to seeing you again at the end of August, and hope the weather keeps up it's sunny disposition when you are back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Varley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 437 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Really can't fault this accommodation,lots of nice touches,clean ,good breakfast,a very accommodating owner and good location ideal for day trips around North Devon. Could be an uphill walk from the centre but the £3 taxi remedied that!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve smith_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for your good comments on Varley House. It was nice to meet you both, and glad that we and the weather helped to make your 2 day stay enjoyable.
If ever you are back in Ilfracombe again we would love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Varley House is still as charming as ever when last year we spent a long weekend there on holiday exploring the North Devon countryside.
My room was clean and tidy, had good WIFI reception and a stonking breakfast which was washed down by endless cups of tea.
Varley House is a short walk from the town centre and the owner Rod is very knowledgable about what is happening locally. He recommended a new restaurant to me whereby I enjoyed some lush Torbay Sole.
Later in the evening I enjoyed the World Cup with some other guests in the large lounge.

Room Tip: I found out the owner can help with trips to Lundy Island and you can leave your car in his car park...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seuke8441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

It was nice to meet you again but for only the 1 night. Thank you for all the kind words said about Varley house, and we look forward to meeting you again if ever you are down in this neck of the woods again
happy whistling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights on the way to and back from Lundy. The B and B is perched high above the town and has excellent views. The room we had was large and the en suite bathroom was modern and clean. Free wifi was useful although didn't work well we were. The breakfasts were excellent. All in all, this was a very good choice of accommodation and there was much to praise and virtually nothing to find fault with.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for the good comments that you have made on Varley House.
as you may have seen from previous posts, there is a problem with not strong broadband in the area, but we are looking at trying to improve the signal over the winter period, especially when superfast broadband is due into the area in October.
If ever you decide to go back to Lundy again, we would love to see you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went down for a week away during the quite period and returned to stay at Varley House again. Once more the stay was really relaxing and the owners were more than happy to help with any requests I had. The views were stunning from my room and the living room/bar. Will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for the good words that you have said about Varley House, and we look forward to meeting you again whenever you are in Ilfracombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Really friendly welcome, lovely room with beautiful views over the local wildlife reserve. Everything was just as it should be. Free wifi. Excellent location just on the outskirts of town, really quiet but close to the harbour area with its shops and restaurants. Nice little pub within 5 minutes walk that does great food if you aren't eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you for the good comments on Varley house.
It was nice to see you both for your 2 night stay whilst you were taking part in the Woolacombe Marathon. Well done on both your efforts in this and one of you winning the veterans race!!

Congratulations and regards from both of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A short break after a hectic 6 months there is only two words for this hotel absolutely amazing the owners are friendly , trusting, polite ,nothing is too much trouble and if you need information on anything from the price of parking to the times of the buses we only had to ask,,the room had views to die for and the bed was better than the "well known tv advertised ones"comfy and spotlessly clean The varley is close to all amenities and has a couple of very good pubs that serve excellent evening meals within walking distance ,the thatch is highly recommended for its steaks .Breakfast at the Varley was amazing everything you could want and more , full cooked English breakfast to order wonderful,,just 1 thing I would add to the owner a small table n chairs out front would give it 11/10 instead of a 10/10

Room Tip: sea views , at the front and very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you both for the wonderful comments on your stay at Varley House.
It was nice to meet you both on your short stay and i ever you are back in the area again we would love to see you both, and even more again

Kind regards from both of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $97 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing