We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Week Break”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went down for a week away during the quite period and returned to stay at Varley House again. Once more the stay was really relaxing and the owners were more than happy to help with any requests I had. The views were stunning from my room and the living room/bar. Will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for the good words that you have said about Varley House, and we look forward to meeting you again whenever you are in Ilfracombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Varley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 437 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Really friendly welcome, lovely room with beautiful views over the local wildlife reserve. Everything was just as it should be. Free wifi. Excellent location just on the outskirts of town, really quiet but close to the harbour area with its shops and restaurants. Nice little pub within 5 minutes walk that does great food if you aren't eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you for the good comments on Varley house.
It was nice to see you both for your 2 night stay whilst you were taking part in the Woolacombe Marathon. Well done on both your efforts in this and one of you winning the veterans race!!

Congratulations and regards from both of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A short break after a hectic 6 months there is only two words for this hotel absolutely amazing the owners are friendly , trusting, polite ,nothing is too much trouble and if you need information on anything from the price of parking to the times of the buses we only had to ask,,the room had views to die for and the bed was better than the "well known tv advertised ones"comfy and spotlessly clean The varley is close to all amenities and has a couple of very good pubs that serve excellent evening meals within walking distance ,the thatch is highly recommended for its steaks .Breakfast at the Varley was amazing everything you could want and more , full cooked English breakfast to order wonderful,,just 1 thing I would add to the owner a small table n chairs out front would give it 11/10 instead of a 10/10

Room Tip: sea views , at the front and very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you both for the wonderful comments on your stay at Varley House.
It was nice to meet you both on your short stay and i ever you are back in the area again we would love to see you both, and even more again

Kind regards from both of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Friendly welcome,room very comfortable and clean, excellant food, Highly recommendable and would return anytime. In a good position to walk down ti the harbour and town. Nothing was too
much trouble for the owners and the views from room 8 was magnificent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for the good comments and marks.
It was nice to meet you both, and glad we were able to help make your vacation a good stay, and that the weather held well for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights before and after trip to Lundy Island. Convenient position for town and harbour. Very comfortable, excellent breakfast choices and superb facilities. The owner was magnificent. Very helpful and accommodating, particularly as I had to spend 2 nights in hospital, which meant that my husband, sister-in-law and her husband arrived back very late one night and my husband had to stay an extra night. Would fully recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 downstairs near the front door but no noise. Only had shower but good size.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisq2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you are feeling better now, and your short stay in hospital did not dampen the lovely time you had on Lundy Island.
If ever you are back in the area again, we would love to see you both, or all 4 of you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel in good location and owners very pleasant and helpful. Good breakfast with choices for everyone. Extremely clean and very comfortable spacious room. Complete with shower and full bath. Excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for your great comments, and it was great to meet all 3 of you and talk about the area you all live in and where I was brought up in my childhood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

In a good position to walk down into the harbour area with comfortable rooms (loved the four poster) and excellent breakfast. Rod is a very easy and friendly host. Nice to be able to park at Varley whilst going to stay on Lundy.

Room Tip: Four poster lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we were able to help you either side of your trip to Lundy Island.
Also it was good to chat to people who came from the same area that we moved from

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $97 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing