We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use this House”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Use this House”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hi
We use this accomidation on a regular basis for work purposes..
Its excellent the people who run it a very friendly searving a great breakfast taylored
to your request (within reason lol)
Its location over looks Ilfracombe with great views..
What more can i say as a company we use it around 40 days per year and are not
looking for any other accomidation
Andy (Onsite Manager)

Room Tip: Any,they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, and we look forward to seeing you all again later in the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    60
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
182
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A warm welcome awaits newcomers [and I'm sure 'returners'] with refreshments on arrival. Rod knew our names as he greeted us and showed us into the lounge for a chat to get to know us. This, together with the one night [only] stay we had before departing for Lundy was excellent personal service. The whole experience was very good. The hotel room was clean, tidy and well equipped and our breakfast was cooked to order. No hestitation in recommending Varley House. I will return here in the future when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, and if ever you are going to Lundy again, or just want to come and visit or North Devon, call us direct to get your prefereed room/s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had a very warm welcome. What I liked was I was called by my first name. straight away I new that was stay was going to be good. The room that I had fore myself was spotless. The lounge very comfortable. The breakfast of good quality.

I can recommend this to any one who wants a good friendly place to stay. I will be back

Room Tip: Very quiet street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your really kind comments. We go out of our way to make sure we make all our guests felt welcome, and that they feel at ease while staying with us.
We would love to see you again,so if you do want to stay just get in contact with us again
Good luck for the future as you get over your loss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome with tea and excellent home made cookies. We were then shown to our room which had the most breath taking views and was spotlessly clean and warm with a good powerful shower. There was plenty of chioce at breakfast, both hot and cold. The food and hospitality throughout our stay was excellent. I cannot fault Varley House in any way and we will definitely visit again. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

Linda & Bob

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you both for an exellent review. We feel that we like to provde the service that we think you should expect, and what we we expect if we we weree visiting a guest house. It will be great to see you both again if you decide to come back an vsit us, so do not hesitate to call us direct for better value
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We arrive to tea and cookies. The room is always very clean and the views from the windows are good. The ensuite facilities are excellent with a strong shower. Breakfast is always good, with kippers an extra treat! The location has easy off street parking and a short walk down to the harbour. The service is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your really good comments, and we look forward to seeing you both again soon, and Pebbles. It is really good to spend the time with you each time you are down, and we look forward to your visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay at Varley House. We received excellent hospitality throughout our stay. The views from our room were lovely. Room very clean and breakfast excellent with a wide range of speciality teas. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I revisited Varley House just after Christmas and what a lovely stay yet again. The service was excellent, the good they provided was just perfect for that time of year (cold). The views from the room were breathtaking especially on the last day when I woke up to snow covering the hill. Will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you once again for staying with us, and again for your lovely comments. We look forward to hosting you again, when you decide to come to Ilfracombe.
Once again thank you for the excellent comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Property: Varley House
Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing