We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find. Very welcoming. Fabulous location. Decor a bit tired”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find. Very welcoming. Fabulous location. Decor a bit tired”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Owner very welcoming and accommodating. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent location. Fabulous views from our room at the front of the hotel. Decor bit tired and shabby. Looks like not been decorated since 1980's. Easy to walk to Ilfracombe if you don't mind the steep hill back to the hotel. Would definitely go back. Hopefully would have been decorated by then.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our establishment.
We can confirm that we are going through a period of refurbishment, some rooms with just a lick of paint, others where we are completely refurbishing the rooms and bathrooms.
As you would probably be aware this takes time and money, but hopefully we can get this done as soon as possible.
We would love to see you back and if you do decide to stay with us again, give us a call direct and we can put you in a refurbished room
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    64
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
191
31
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here about a month ago . We spare of the moment decided to go to ilfracombe for the weekend and I came on here to look at reviews of hotels to find somewhere nice . Booked hotel at about 6 in evening . Luckily they had one room available . Arrived hour and half later . Was welcomed warmly . The owner even gave us a map of the town and how to walk there etc . Fantastic night out . Walls were thick so you couldn't hear any other visitors etc . Breakfast next morning was fantastic . Would definitely recommend . And would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briggsie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for lovely comments, and if ever you are visiting Ilfracombe again, we would love to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRIMLEY
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lovely friendly hotel with excellent accommodation, views and delicious home cooked food. Easy walk into town centre, ideal for boat trips, shopping and sightseeing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will be returning next year!!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely response, and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as it's listed as a place to leave your car if you are travelling to Lundy island for a stay. It's a very convenient location for the ferry and has limited off road parking. The owners are very accommodating (we thought we were taking our canoe with us and asked if there was anywhere to store it, they offered to keep it around the back of the hotel in a secure area). The rooms were clean and airy, just a bit of updating of the decor would help, but everything was there (except a haidryer in the room, but I never asked if one was available for use so who knows). We had nice views from the window and could even sit out on a balcony which would have been lovely if the weather had been a little nicer (British summer eh). Breakfast was good, with a menu supplied and plenty of choice including cooked and continental (you could have a bit of both if you wanted). Tea and filter coffee were available. You could even have an evening meal if you wished.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychomidgetredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our service and establishment.
You should have asked us about a hairdryer, as there is on in each room, placed in one of the drawers.
Also we do agree with the decor, as we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms, over the next few years.
If you decide to come back to visit lundy, give us a call if you would like accomodation
regards

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely house, very grand entrance and a warm welcome. Our room was well decorated and the en-suite was very clean, the shower was a walk in power shower but the water pressure didn't do it justice it would have taken me ages to wash my hair so I didn't bother. We had a comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was ok, there was fruit, cereal, croissants e.t.c. the cooked English could do with a slight up grade on the bacon and sausage though but all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindarowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Sorry about the pressure in your shower. The water pressure in this area can be weak, but I was quite surprised to find that this was a problem in room number 9, as the general feedback is this is a good ahower. The only thing I can think is a number of people were pulling water at the same time. We are gradually upgrading the showers, and we already had an extra pump fitted to help with the water around the building.
Also than you for your comments on the breakfast, and we will look at the quality of the meat products
good luck and hope to see you again if you are down this way
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Varley House Rod treated us like old friends. A most welcome cafetierre of coffee with his home made biscuits in the lounge while discussing at that he and Helen would offer us during our stay at Varley House.
The bedroom Rod has selected for us was superb. Huge picture window dominated the bedroom with wonderfull views of land sea and sky - when the sea mist was not about of course!
Breakfast choice was plentiful and cooked breakfast delicious.
Be warned thoughh- the walk to Ilracombe harbour and town centre is easy but the walk back is a killer, uphill all the way!
Thank you Rod and Helen for a lovely 4 day stay. We know where to stay when we come back to Ilfracombe.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbiddySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks for your great review, and whenever you are back down visiting your brother we would love to see you again, and catch up on the things going on in Chertsey.
Good luck with everything
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Some friends and I stayed at Varley house a few weeks ago. The service was fantastic. Rod and Helen were very welcoming and it felt very homely which made it an even better week. We had a little kid with us and they were very accommodating. The food was lovely and very affordable. They even have a fully working bar which was nice at the end of the day. The views are memorizing. I would definitely recommend Varley House to anyone and we will be visiting again. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your lovely response, and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Property: Varley House
Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing