We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at Varley House for three nights, as a base to explore the north coast of Devon and Exmoor. Rod and Helen make us feel at home right from the moment we arrived, with the traditional Varley House welcome of tea and biscuits. Our room was well appointed with modern fixtures and fittings, including a new bathroom. Rod mentioned that he has been a chef and his breakfasts are fit for a king, while his evening menu is of top restaurant quality. He's very knowledgeable about nearby tourist attractions and had plenty of suggestions for ways to spend each day. Helen is always busy behind the scenes, and between the two of them, the place runs like clockwork. Ilfracombe itself seemed a lively place with a busy restaurant centre down at the harbour (10 minutes walk from Varley House), and is ideally central for anyone who wants to take in the stunning north Devonshire costal scenes, including Lynton and Lynmouth to the east or Woolacombe and Clovelly to the west - and not forgetting the breathtaking walks on Exmoor. Ilfracombe is also the start point for trips to Lundy Island (something we intend to do on a future visit) to Varley House.

Room Tip: Rooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed with modern bathrooms. Room 1 has a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel_r_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to meeting up again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    64
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
191
31
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A group of three of us stayed at Varley House prior to travelling to Lundy and on the evening of our return. One of the reasons for choosing Varley House was that we were able to leave our car there for the duration of our stay on Lundy. On arriving at the house we were greeted by Rod and a tray of tea and biscuits and a friendly chat. The room had excellent views and the bathroom was bright and modern. The mattress provided an excellent nights sleep as it was very comfortable. The house it located on a hill and the walk to the town takes about 15mins. The pictures on the website do not give the accomodation justice. There was a good choice of hot or cold food for breakfast. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house for those incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelewehden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments that you have made of our establishment, and if you are looking to return to Lundy Island, we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst on our way to a surprise 50th party in nearby Georgeham. We found the owners very friendly and welcoming, they had no issue putting three of us up in one room at a very reasonable price. The views were lovely from our sttic room and just a short walk down to a nice local pub. Breakfast was very nice and I think one of the healthiest looking fry-ups I've ever had! Would thoroughly recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannahKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great comments you made earlier this year. We are now in the process of upgrading the room that you were in, so if you come back again next year you will see quite a difference
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Following the warm welcome and apparently custom hot drink and biscuits, I was given a brief tour of the facilities before being shown to my room.
The owners couldn't do enough, ensuring my stay was comfortable and relaxing.
The food was excellent along with the whole ambience and location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMWTMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your very good comments and if ever you are in the area again we would love to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Arrived around 4pm and greeted by Rod and as with many others welcomed with a personal hot pot of fresh ground coffee and biscuits.Shown to my room which was large and very very clean,comfortable nights sleep and a nice hot breakfast.
I was staying before a week long trip over to Lundy Island and was also kindly offered the facility of leaving my car for the week on the premises at no extra cost-a great little bonus,a short 10 minute (though moderately steep) walk to the harbour from the hotel and no problems on return getting car back even though I wasn't staying the following the day of return.
All in all great service and a lovely hotel,highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review, and we look forward to seeing you possibly again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is by far the best guest house I have experienced in Ilfracombe. I stayed here the night before the wedding (at Tunnels Beaches) and got ready here on the day, along with several family members (age range from 18-78!). I was originally recommended Varley House by a work colleague, and i'm so glad I took note. Ilfracombe is a very quiet place but Varley House is located in a very peaceful area. It is about 4/5 mins drive to Tunnels beaches (perfect if you have a wedding to go to) and probably about 10-15 minute walk to the harbour and town although up hill on the way back, but a taxi only costs a few pounds from the town so not a problem if you don't fancy it. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast was lovely. The views from some of the rooms are stunning! Rod and Helen, are very friendly and accommodating. The single room I stayed in was perfect, plenty of space for one and the mattress was so comfy I even got a good nights sleep the night before my wedding! The building itself is really attractive and of good size which pictures do not do justice, it also has a very relaxed homely feel inside. The night of the wedding, myself and the groom stayed in a very expensive guest house in Ilfracombe and honestly, I would have preferred to have come back to Varley House. No complaints from any of the family and we look forward to returning. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The front of the house has the bets views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thanks for the great comments, and we look forward to seeing you and your betrothed again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

having arrived early we were still shown the room and we were given a key for when the room was ready,the hotel is set in a peaceful location with great views and a short distance to some great walks along the coastal path,rooms were clean and the breakfast was worth getting up for,if you want a hotel to relax in varley house is ideal we would definatley go back...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments, and we would welcome you back if you come to stay this way again
Rod Chatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Property: Varley House
Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing