We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous family week at Laston House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #14 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous family week at Laston House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Laston House in May and hired it for a self catering holiday. We had four generations stay in the wonderfully decorated bedrooms all with en suites. We made good use of the grand living room and enjoyed a BBQ twice during our stay. Abigail & Greg were good landlords, enabling us to enjoy our privacy, but knowing they were close to hand if anything was needed. I would recommend Laston House for a large group wishing to meet up. Another bonus was having a very good pub at the bottom of the drive!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    32
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
77
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fanatic weekend at Laston hotel. Owners went out of their way to make us welcome and even got me soya milk for the bedroom and spread for breakfast as I have dairy allergies. Wonderful building, great food and outstanding hospitality . Great location and views, very clean and great value for money. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked Laston House for 15 of my friends self catering, I thought it would be nice but actually the pictures don't really capture how AMAZING the place is. Every single room was lovely, fresh, digital radios which we loved. I had also miscounted how many friends I was bringing (ooops) and so we were one bed down, which I thought...we could just share. But actually one call and the owner was straight back round...setting up another bed, no problems. We also had fresh bread, eggs and a delicious Lemon Drizzle cake waiting for us.
The views are stunning and just a short walk to the harbour.

I can say that ALL 15 oh hang on 16!!! (keep getting that wrong) LOVED the weekend and its is mainly due to this house/location and how friendly the owners were. I will be back probably this year and im certain most of the others will too. Incredible value for money.

Looking at a few of the previous reviews I was expecting a nice but slightly shabby place. But not AT ALL. There isn't anything any of us would change...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We've stayed at the Laston 3 times now. The latest being with our little daughter. Every effort is made to put you in the holiday mood. Hospitality is second to none. The rooms are extremely good value for money, breakfast is fit for a king with a ample selection and the location I central to anywhere practically.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markkimniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteparish
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I also welcomed the house itself, the ability to park, and the lounge and breakfast, but was somewhat disappointed by "small" points with regard to our room. I was travelling with my thirty year old son and had booked a twin room, but discovered that a double had been set aside for us. We were offered a twenty minute wait or the prospect of a twin-room upstairs. This was clean and comfortable but there was nowhere to put clothes but for a four foot square "box" - a half wardrobe of some description. The view was of scrubland and builders' rubble, and my pet hate, one chair in a room for two people (a common "facility" that I especially find annoying..... sad b**** that I am).
The owners were very pleasant and accommodating, and the breakfast was good, so I wouldn't put people off....... it is just that it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: I think we had room 7. Downstairs is obviously nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Really nice building and very friendly and welcoming proprietors. The breakfasts were great and the rooms were large, clean and warm (but not too warm).
Parking was a real boon and it was only a short walk into town.
There was a really nice lounge that we were able to use which was great because we had other family members staying at the hotel too so we could all meet up and not have to invade each others rooms all the time.
Lovely break, thank you Abigail & Greg

Room Tip: Sea views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have to start off by saying the house is amazing and being fairly sympathetically restored by the owners. It is a work in progress but any work that was going on was totally unobtrusive. I must also say that the professional photos of the property give the impression that it is very secluded, and while it does stand alone in very nice gardens it is actually completely surrounded by other buildings. The large garden does provide a car park though. A real God send in most of Ilfracombe.

The room (No 1) was on the ground floor with a view of the garden and the sea. It was large and clean, but missing a few essentials. There were no cups with the tea and coffee facilities, and no waste bin though these were both provided by the second day, There was only one bedside lamp, and only one proper bedside cabinet. There was a very small table on the other side that was obviously from a nest of tables. The small TV appeared to be standing on another table from the same set. The bathroom was a little small, but this was no doubt due to the architecture of the house. The fittings were new and the room was nicely decorated, A major fault though was the shower cubicle had a smooth floor and obviously became slippery. This coupled with the step required to get in and out meant the chance of slipping over was considerable. Oddly there was nowhere in the shower to put soap shower gel which meant either putting it on the floor or holding onto it. Very inconvenient, particularly if you opted to put it on the floor which would mean bending over on the smooth wet floor.
An unusual surprise was the provision of a lounge, when so many B&Bs opt to maximise bedroom space this was most welcome.
Breakfast was substantial with a good choice, and served in a very pleasant dining room.
All in all, we thought it was good value for money and provided a nice base for a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 390IanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Norbury House Hotel
Norbury House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing