We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, great place”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #19 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Laston House for 6 nights with our little girl for our Anniversary and my Birthday. It's a beautiful old house that is cosy and welcoming. Our room was spacious, light and bright and had a great sea view. Abi and Greg were really lovely and fantastic with our little girl who is not yet 3. Nothing was too much trouble and Abi even let our daughter play with her boys and their toys which was fab.
The breakfast was lovely and again nothing was too much trouble. Laston House is in a great location, just a five minute walk from the harbour and has a very nice pub right next door.
We loved it so much we are going back again in September.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyKing1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Laston House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Grand & elegant building, set within its own tranquil grounds - giving private car-parking (hard to find in Ilfracombe).
We had a bedroom on the 1st floor in the front, which gave a lovely if distant view of the sea (but not the harbour).
Yet its location was a blessing and a curse: - on the one hand the peace & quiet, on the other fifteen minute walk to get to any shops (still the view - out to sea - on the 'walk' was fantastic), and a similar time to the 'front' harbour et al - problem 20 - 25 minutes to get back up the hill!

Curiosities - no 'registration' on arrival, no Hotel information leaflet/brochure in the room, no room 'phone, and no Gideon's Bible.

While, Greg & Abi were warm & friendly, and did go the 'extra mile' to assist with eye-pads (no not ipads), a couple of gripes - breakfast toast was via thick 'door-stoppers', and Greg could have done with a shave!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here on 15 and 16 July 2013 for our trip to Lundy. It is a large detached house set in spacious grounds. The rooms are light and airy, excellent breakfast, large lounge and very helpful and friendly owners. It's just a short walk down to the quay. Would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Laston House is absolutely beautiful and in a perfect location with great views of the harbour. Greg and Abi are both lovely hosts and have clearly put in a lot of hard work in the 2 1/2 years they've been here. The rooms are light and airy with high ceilings and beautiful decor and the entrance to the house is grand with a sweeping staircase. Everywhere was exceptionally clean and the service we received was great too with a fabulous breakfast each morning. We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and Abi even made us some home made lemon drizzle cake- a really sweet touch and it was amazing!! We loved Ilfracombe and its sights and will definitely be coming back. Thanks for having us Layla & Jason Brader

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layals5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having recently had relatives stay at Laston House, I had the opportunity to visit this wonderful house. The views across the Bristol channel were fantastic and the house was light and airy. According to my relatives (my elderly 'fussy' aunt and teenage neice) that the breakfast, of which uses local produce was "Superb" and the lemon dribble cake was "Awesome". The rooms were spotlessly clean and the quirky art deco touch added to the bright and clean decor. The lawn and garden are beautiful, personally I think that it would be an incredible location to hold a 'special occasion'. Excellent value for money, Highly recommend Laston House :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fumblefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at Laston House for one night....What a lovely old English house, really enjoyed staying in a place which still retains all the old features such as the traditional ceiling mouldings and architraves. Our room was spotlessly clean, bright and airy, along with a bed which was one of the most comfortable Ive slept in.
Its situated in a lovely peaceful part of town and just a 10 min stroll down to Harbour..The owners are a lovely couple, very helpful, polite and informative of the local area and the breakfast was great too, freshly cooked and plenty of it.
Would recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful stay in Ilfracombe, we will certainly be going back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAREN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Laston House proved an ideal place for our one night stop over in Ilfracombe.
Very good first impression driving into the large gardens surrounding the house followed by the spacious entrance hall and grand staircase. Clean bright rooms (big windows!). We understand the owners (both very welcoming and friendly) have put a lot of work into the property in the 2 1/2 years they've been there. The rooms are large with high ceilings so they've taken on a big job. In places this shows where the finishing touches aren't perfect but everything was spotlessly clean and we weren't expecting 5 start luxury hotel chic. 5 minute walk to town where we took a recommendation for a fish restaurant Take Thyme. Don't miss this if you love eating fish. Unpretentious, delicious and great value. Pleased to see Hirts Verity for the fisrt time but Ilfracombe's never really done it for me. Nevertheless if you do need an overnight stop Lasdon House is very good value at £80 for a double room and a top notch full English!

Room Tip: view overlooking the sea or garden probably provide the best light
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $92 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing