We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families with young children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #15 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with young children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Laston House Hotel for 3 nights with our 3.5yr old and 10mth old. Having got children themselves, Greg and Abi were so helpful and accommodating, providing a travel cot, highchair, toys and lending us their beach tent. The converted house is really lovely and tucked away in the hill yet not far at all from the high street and harbour. We had single and double interconnecting rooms which was perfect and often a struggle to find when booking holidays with young children. Abi cooks a scrummy hot breakfast of whatever combination you fancy each morning :-) Even our open bottle of wine left in the bedroom was placed in the kitchen fridge for us when our room was cleaned, so very thoughtful. Laston is excellent value, Greg & Abi are excellent hosts and we would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: It's not currently clear from their website which rooms interconnect, so it's tricky to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Miss_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    32
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
77
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Me and my wife had a very enjoyable stay here for two nights, very laid back environment, good location only 5 minutes from the harbour and Verity!! nice pub right next door called the Thatched Inn also.
We had a very large room with a sea view, the bed was very large and comfortable, The breakfast at Laston House was superb and a good choice the wife loved the sausages and scrambled eggs!

Room Tip: Ask for number 6 lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymarshallexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

great location near to harbour beach and town centre our room was very clean roomy and had a good view of the sea Greg was very helpful giving advice about places to go and attractions to see plenty of space to park cars which could be a problem at some b and b s Would recommend this b and b to anyone thinking of staying in ilfracombe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just got back from this lovely house after a two night break. The accommodation is just above the harbour with a beautiful outlook onto the sea. Greg and Abbi are a very friendly and warm couple and ensured we had a relaxing time. The breakfast was of a very high standard and Greg was a very considerate host, thinking of our needs, before we asked. We travel quite a lot an have found this to be the friendliest and most efficiently run b&b in Devon. We fully recommend a stay here and will certainly return!!!! Thank you both and enjoy filling your vegetable garden. David and Sharon

Room Tip: Room 6 has three beautiful window with views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Me and my partner stayed 2 nights here over the Easter weekend, and for the price we paid, I wasn't expecting much, so it was a very pleasant surprise when we drove up to this beautiful house. The room was very spacious and light, Greg & Abi were very committed hosts and made us feel welcome. (not to mention the breakfast was lovely!). We would no doubt stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Ilfracombe,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferny_Werny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed one night, room large and comfortable, Greg and Abi work very hard at making people feel comfortable and go out of their way to be helpful (Abi booked a table at the local restaurant for us). and the breakfast was excellent.
Good value would recommend it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here last Easter on a short break with our three children (all under 10 yrs) and we are back again this year. A beautiful Georgian building that has a relaxed family feel so it feels like a home from home (though a grand version of home!). The children were looking forward to the breakfasts (pancakes were their favourite) and we had a lovely big room with a newly fitted en suite bathroom and sea views. Abi and Greg work hard to keep everything looking great and the room was spotless. They were also really helpful when recommending places to visit or local restaurants. Would highly recommend for anyone, not just families. I'm sure we will be back again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelC864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing