We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Property being brought back to life!”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #17 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietors of Laston House they came to the rescue when we were late booking a room.
The vision the couple have for their new venture is magical. The hard work that they have already completed is outstanding. The enthusiasm that they radiate is like a breath of fresh air! Most of all the setting is tranquil and relaxing. The standard exceptional with the rooms immaculate and the breakfast substantial well cooked and well presented. The warmth of the welcome was second to none and so important to travellers.
I think Lasten House would make a splendid venue for exclusive weddings the house and the grounds are perfect for the fairytale moment! Good Luck with everything you do! You deserve it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our 4 night stay at Laston House was lovely from start to finish. Greg and Abi are friendly and informative hosts and we couldn't fault their restaurant recommendations! Our room was very comfortable and the lounge to relax and read books in was an added bonus. The location was perfect - parking immediately outside and a short walk to the harbour. Despite the close proximity to the town Laston House has beautiful private grounds to relax and enjoy the beautiful views. The breakfasts were delicious, not only a full cooked breakfast but pancakes and maple syrup on request as well! We will definitely be returning if we are in the area and will be recommending Laston House to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelWestHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a very relaxing 3 night stay at Laston House. Everything was spot on including the location, the hosts, the rooms (including the very comfy beds) and the breakfasts. As we were travelling with young people the downstairs lounge was very useful. I don't think we have stayed in a nicer B&B. This was our second visit and we will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booked a last minute two night break at Laston House. It is a lovelyold building with great hosts who were very welcoming. The room was just perfect, clean and well maintained and most of all quiet. We slept so well it was hard to drag ourselves down to the hot tasty breakfast and freshly brewed coffee both mornings! Its a ten minute stroll to the center of Ilfracomb so not far from all that you need. A great place to stop and we enjoyed it throughly...well recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanF-552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Agree with all other reviews. Abi and Greg lovely hosts and the building terrific. Only stayed the one night but would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SJRlongeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We used Laston House as a base for the extended family when we were in Ilfracombe for our younger son's wedding. It was a perfect venue made all the more so by Abi and Greg who did all they could to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. The house is a lovely building retaining many original features, the rooms tastefully furnished and decorated, and (unusually in our experience) there is a huge lounge available, so guests are not restricted to their rooms. The breakfast menu met all our requirements, including those of our young grandchildren. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are most convenient, immediately inside the front door: on the other hand, upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great building with large, well appointed rooms and spacious communal areas for relaxing. The building is traditionally built and so the walls are thick making the rooms nice and quiet. We had interconnecting rooms for the family which worked very well.

With the wooded hill behind the house you could believe that you were out in the country.

Close to the town and harbour areas it is in easy reach of all the local bars and restaurants.

I'd certainly recommend Laston House and would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $96 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing