We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely room and excellent service”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #17 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Laston House as we were going to a wedding in Ilfracombe. We arrived at a time other than we had thought when we first booked and we were so grateful to be offered breakfast (even though it was after service had finished).
The room was lovely and looked over the garden and out to sea. It looked like it was recenty decorated and was very fresh.
Good location for the town and far enough away to be quiet and very restful. Would definitely recommend and I have never written a review for Trip Advisor before.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyMcSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the night before and two nights after cycling the Devon Coast to Coast path. The proprietors were happy for us to leave our car there while cycling. They are very friendly and welcoming. We felt very comfortable, everything was very clean, a great mix of interesting furniture, decoration and furniture and the sheets were soooooooo crisp and cosy, beds really comfortable, position very quiet despite being above a road, a short walk into town. We'd love to go back again.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 6 (to fit in with prior bookings). 1 was very recently decorated and had a roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our family and friends stayed here on our way to and from Lundy. Abi and Greg couldn't have been more helpful. Well appointed rooms and facilities, tastefully decorated. Breakfast excellent - cereal to full english!
5 min walk down to quay, with great sea view. Car parking on the property. Helped us find a super place for dinner.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights, and the room was lovely and big, lovely hot showers, beautiful views over the town and seaside. And the breakfast was lovely too!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail L, Owner at Laston House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments, it was really nice to have you here and hope you will stay with us again when you visit your friends in Ilfracombe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here before Christmas for a weekend surfing North Devon. Laston House is a great looking building down a secluded little drive. Twin room was cosy. The couple who run the house are charming. We wanted to surf early so they offered to cook breakfast for us on our return closer to lunchtime. Great breakfast and touches like that make a big difference to your day. Will be first port of call for a B&B in the area going forward.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed recently for the second time at Laston House and highly recommend. Great, traditional house, well located, fairly simple but good sized rooms and awesome breakfast... but the stand out reason we'll be back is the hospitality, which is excellent. Really helpful and genuinely accommodating. Will be back

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Only stayed for one night but the place was clean, friendly and warm and the host and his wife were very happy to help with anything. The location was good taking 5 mins to walk to the harbour and having walked around the town quite a bit we were certainly happy with where we had elected to stay...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldisamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
2.6 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $89 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing