We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Gabriel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gabriel House
Ranked #6 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed in the Eden apartment at Gabriel house for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it and would definitely stay again if we are in the area.
The location was brilliant, a few minutes for the harbour and on the seafront.
The apartment was very clean and bright and had everything that we needed.
The room overlooked the garden which was very nice.
Also free parking !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 281Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
97
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My Partner & I stayed at Gabriel House Apartments.We stayed at the Oriel Apartment for 10 days,the Eden Apartment for 6 days,we loved & are definitetly going back.
Service - Very Good
Room - Very Good
Location - Very Good
Parking - Very Good
Owners very profesional,very nice & always on hand,they make Gabriel House.

Room Tip: All the 3 apartments are very nice in their own way,but our favourite is the Oriel apartment which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tarajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed over for one night on our way down to Cornwall and what a treat it was. We had the four poster bedroom which was lovely and clean and comfortable with the added treat of being able to go outside onto a terrace and into the garden. The following morning we were treated to an excellent breakfast in the hosts beautiful dining room. The meal kept us going all day!! Good hospitality, location and parking - what more could one ask for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 4Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My friend and I started our cycle trip the Devon coast to coast and had a lovely stay with a room overlooking the sea, comfortable beds and very clean. They stored our bikes for us and the owners were very hospitable and friendly, advising us where to eat. Breakfast was lovely a good start to our trip. Value for money and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We didnt have to pay an upgrade for a sea view which was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Gabriel for my birthday for 3 nights. We had the 4 poster bedded room. The room was comfortable, very quiet and had everything we needed. The breakfast was great with a huge selection and more than enought for a good healthy appetite. The location was right on the seafront opposite the landmark theatre and within very easy walking distance of the harbour and many bars and restaurants. Parking was ample with no problems and the couple that owned the property were there but not in your face. I would recommend this to anybody wishing to be in the heart of Ilfracombe seafront without needing to drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We recently had two night's here and it's such a lovely place with a great location and parking.

It's kept to a very high standard with friendly and welcoming hosts. I even got a Birthday card from them whilst I was down there. :)

Fab food, the breakfasts are a real treat.

You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was a wonderful luxury, very high standard and excellent breakfast, all diets catered for, and John and Tricia couldn't do enough for us and made us feel so welcome.
I can Highly recommend Gabriel House, excellent location, accommodation and friendliness.

Room Tip: Great vews from the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Biggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House

Property: Gabriel House
Address: Gabriel House Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel House was originally built for a sea captain around 1880. It is now converted into 3 beautiful apartments and a stylish B&B.We have our own car park, so if you are enroute to Lundy Island why not stay with us and park your car? Ilfracombe Harbour is just a 5 min walk. We have 2 double rooms Helena is a double at the front of the house with a spectacular sea views. It has a large en-suite walk in shower room. Anya is at the rear of the house and overlooks and has access to the back garden. It has a four poster bed and a full en-suite bathroom/shower room. The Cabin room is a twin with wonderful views over the beach and out to sea. It has a en-suite shower room.All rooms have flat screen TV’s with sky free view . They have built in DVD’s and we have a selection available.The whole house has Wi-Fi so you can keep in touch with work if you have too!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gabriel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing