We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”
Review of Seventy One

Seventy One
Ranked #19 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I had walked past the restaurant several times during our summer holidays and liked the look of the menu so we booked it for our wedding anniversary on 6th October. We had viewed the menu online during the day and made our choice to have fillet steak with a Madeira sauce for our main course before we arrived.
Unfortunately we had chosen a night with 14 noisy hens in attendance. Not a good start to the evening - although though they were having a fabulous time! We it came to ordering we were told that the menu had been changed, and whilst there was now a sirloin on the menu the chef was unwilling to knock up a sauce to fulfill our request. We were told that we could only have what was on the menu! It was a shame that the website was so out of date.
I ordered chicken liver pate to start and hubby ordered mussels. It arrived very quickly and the only criticism was that the fish dish turned up with a wet wipe. You would expect that in a fast food venue bu not in a restaurant. We would have asked the waitress for a finger bowl but after being turned down on the sauce request we didn't think we would bother.
The main course arrived quickly too and was beautifully presented. No complaints at all except we didn't get what we fancied. In the background the hens were getting louder and louder whilst coming in and out of the front door to 'have a fag'. The phrase 'born in a barn' comes to mind.
The cheeseboard we had for dessert was super with a good selection of local cheeses and plenty of crackers to accompany. It was a shame that the waitress had little, if no knowledge of the range of whiskys that were on offer.
In summary, if you fancy what is on the menu in the window and they have a free table (no hens in sight) then the food is on a par with good pub food. But don't ask for anything special because the chef doesn't appear to be very accommodating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa12_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    40
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having walked past this restaurant several times and viewed the menu. We decided to make a visit. We were so gald we did. The food and presentation was really excellent. A small place so you need to book, particularly in high season. I am looking forward to returning. I did laugh at the bikes on the wall by the toilets though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little lacklustre...”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We ate here on our second night and unfortunately, compared to our meal on the first evening at The Olive Room, this was disappointing. It's hard to put a finger on it, but we just felt something was lacking and, admittedly, the fact that we had to send back one of the starters because the bread had a very visible blob of mould on it, didn't help matters. The chef was very apologetic and they brought a fresh round over swiftly, but we would have expected that dish to have been taken off the bill as a gesture of goodwill, and that didn't happen. All in all it was just a very average experience and I'm sorry to say we wouldn't return. I have given three stars because the meals were ok, but I personally feel there are better places to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, good wine”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Visited this Restaurant on our business trip. It made it on our "short list" of places to visit again. Very cozy, romantic place with a nice wine list. Food was good, as was the dessert. Pork Wellington was spot-on, as was the brownie. The wine was a very nice well rounded French that was a great pick to the dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamesFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Its lovely but book in advance as this restaurant is quite small”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We chanced upon Seventy One while wandering around Ilfracombe looking for somewhere to eat. The menu looked good, the price was fine so we went in and were lucky enough to get a table. The food was really good and perfectly cooked, service was good and we werent rushed.
My husband had scallops to start and I had the lobster risotto, he had the monkfish for his main and I had the seabass. It was all really delicious and as there were other things on the menu that also appealed to us we decided to book for the following night. Unfortunately the hotel we were staying at was so awful that we checked out a day early and had to cancel the booking.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant but would suggest booking in advance to avoid disappointment. While we were enjoying our meal several couples were turned away as the restaurant was fully booked.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventy One also viewed

 

Been to Seventy One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing