We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seventy One

Seventy One
Ranked #20 of 118 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devon uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

When we first arrived and looked at the menu we were a bit worried as the friend i was dinning with had been put on a restricted diet and could only eat chicken and there was none to be seen on the menu.........yes we did check menu on line before booking and chicken was on the menu,However the very kind Chef did do chicken especially for my friend and she said how beautiful it was and how moist,I had the Steak and WOW!! it was so tender real melt in the mouth and as for the homemade chips ummm yumm would definatly recommend this restaurant the food is beautiful fantastic Chef!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angeleyes1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    36
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We were recommended this restaurant by one of the locals, not much to look at outside but the food is fantastic we have eaten in many "top restaurants" and I can honestly say this was by far the best - attention to detail was second to none can't wait to return in January.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb food, will definitely return when in the area again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had been staying near Coombe Martin for a week and this was our last night so we thought rather than book somewhere we would take a walk in nearby Ilfracombe and see what was on offer. It was 8pm and we were expecting most restaurants to be pretty busy but on our first look in Seventy One it was empty so we (mistakenly) thought this was a sign and carried on looking. However, most of the restaurants were pretty empty and we had read good reviews (on here and other sites) about Seventy One so we went back and did not regret this at all despite being the only diners, if anything, we counted our lucky stars we had not surpassed the opportunity to dine on fantastic food and experience their warm and welcoming service. We can not recommend this restaurant highly enough. The surf and turf is excellent and the steak was cooked to perfection. We had 3 courses, a couple of drinks and with service this came to £70 which we thought was great value for money especially considering how good the food is. We will return whenever in North Devon and are gutted we don't live nearer!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMD39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Ives
1 review
“Wonderful food, good atmosphere and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We visited Ilfracombe for a weekend break. We arrived late eve on Fri, so went for a Chinese.
However, on the Saturday we thought we would book somewhere. We had 3 options to choose from, and I am glad we picked Seventy One.
We are a couple who live in St.Ives Cornwall and eat out frequently. We thought the meal we had was one of the best meals we've had for a while.
We would thoroughly recommend it!
The only problem was they had sold all the Creme Brulees - Sacre Bleu!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Had to write a review about this restaurant because the food was so good. The price was very reasonable and this was by far the best meal we had in Ilfracombe. It doesn't look that fancy from the outside but the quality of the food sets it apart from the rest.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanessa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventy One also viewed

 

Been to Seventy One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing