We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seventy One

Seventy One
Ranked #19 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We visited this restaurant accidentally and were very pleased to have stumbled across it! Some of the best food I have eaten in a while. Our table of 4 ordered different meals and all were made fast and presented nicely. The best surf and turf I have ever had and it didn';t cost the earth. The staff are extremely friendly and the food was local with a good wine selection. I would definitely recommend it!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gotala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    36
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“keep up the excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Seventy one is a small quality restaurant that serves delicious and well put together food.Open view of the kitchen which is spotless.The service is very good.We have always had excellent food when we have visited and will again very soon.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longhair25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Small quality restaurant that serves well crafted and imaginative food from an open view kitchen.

We spent 3 nights in Ilfracombe and this was easily the best place we ate at.
Reasonable value wine list, good seafood choices, imaginative presentation and elegant decor.

Devon Red beef simply superb.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Orangemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

On a wet and rainy Friday night this was a real find. The crab cakes were well flavoured and fresh. The lobster was locally caught - served with some very creamy duphinoise potatoes, and really tasty. The puddings (pavlova and crumble) were delicious and the prefect end to a brilliant meal. Only downside was not very enthusuastic service. Will be going back next visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“just get us a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

This restaurant was very busy the evening we dined here, but that wasnt our fault, a long wait occurred between courses, the scampi has been reinvented here and tastes like er `scampi`, the fish plaice or sole cant remember was pappy and tasteless, maybe why it was covered in sauce, one nice dessert, and a nice bottle of wine though, thought we had found a little hidden gem, not quite.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dollydoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventy One also viewed

 

Been to Seventy One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing