We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !”

Take Thyme Fish Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 118 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located not 50 yards from Ilfracombe Harbour, Take Thyme Restaurant provides fresh local fish, Exmoor steak and home-made dishes. We also have vegetarian and gluten free options.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a wonderful little restaurant; only 20 covers, so booking is recommended, as it is very popular.
The food is prepared and served with a lot of thought and attention; crab cakes with sweet chilli dip, sea bass in ginger were excellent.
The seasonal vegetables were the freshest, tastiest I'd had all week in Ilfracombe.

Shame about the muzak, not my cup o' tea, but I shut my earholes and let my taste buds take over.
Pricey, but worth it. Wonderful !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    68
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pricey if you like chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good food - excellent mussels, it must be said. Spoilt by the exorbitant price of £3 for about 10 little chips. The price was clear on the menu - the quantity wasn't. Shame, as the owners were very friendly, food good, ambience super - shame about something they could do something about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish as it should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a great place, it was outstanding, from the first point of booking to the service and food. It was fully booked, but the service was still very attentive and informative. The fish was cooked perfectly, as were the vegetables. We will definitely be back, and will be recommending it to all our B&B guests and friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbcroyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate in this restaurant on our first night in ilfracombe. What can i say, the food and service was outstanding. We had fish cakes and scallops to start, and sea bass and steak as a main. all cooked beautifully. We even managed to squeeze in a dessert. I had the crumble, which was possibly the best crumble i have ever eaten (and i have eaten a few!). Would definatley recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits ilfracombe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I'm coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful service, friendly and very welcoming. Great atmosphere and even better food. Mussels! Yummmmm!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacherbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Take Thyme Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Take Thyme Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing