We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Friendly Fish Restaurant”

Take Thyme Fish Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located not 50 yards from Ilfracombe Harbour, Take Thyme Restaurant provides fresh local fish, Exmoor steak and home-made dishes. We also have vegetarian and gluten free options.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Friendly Fish Restaurant”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Ilfracombe for a few nights for my birthday, having walked through the Town we walked past Take Thyme and having looked at the menu decided to book for my birthday meal. I wasn't disappointed, the menu together with the specials had a good choice of local produce and together with the wine was reasonably priced.

Having decided on crab cakes followed by Sea Bass I was very pleased with my choice. The fish was really tasty, fresh and ample portion size. Unfortunately I didn't have enough room for a dessert.

I would certainly recommend the Restaurant and expect on Friday and Saturday nights it would be worth making reservation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    71
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive, accommodating and friendly”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Top marks. Arrived on spec on a Saturday evening when this very small restaurant was very full. Not only did the staff padvise us a table would be available "within half an hour" they also took my mobile phone no and said they'd ring if they could do it sooner. Not only that but, when we asked "is the hake on?" having only 2 portions left they promised to keep them for us. As good as their word they phoned within 15 minutes and we returned and enjoyed our hake in a piquant sauce with potatoes and a variety of vegetables and an inexpensive but palatable Sangiovese. Nice place, nice food, nice people who show an interest in their customers - what more could you want?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fmcmartinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really fresh fish”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Conveniently placed - limited menu making the most of the best fish of the catch and served with interesting dressings. Excellent wines at reasonable prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

You must book in advance as it is quite a small restaurant. Very knowledgable staff and friendly. Lovely crab fishcakes.Food served hot! Small menu but I find this is best as what they do they do well. Will return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bewdley45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a lovely little restaurant. A but less formal than some of the other restaurants in Fore Street. I had perfect mussels and my partner had sea hake and both were excellent. You need to book in high season as it was full every evening we walked past it during the week we were in Ilfracombe. Service is very friendly with lots of information about the food

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiejane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Take Thyme Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Take Thyme Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing