We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengal Spice

Bengal Spice
Ranked #68 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great service, friendly staff, really tasty food and all at a reasonable price, couldn't have asked for more!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 00pooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    48
    18
    7
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good local Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We called in here in desperation on a Monday night in October. For the record most restaurants in ilfracombe are closed on a Monday night. Mixed reviews but we decided to give it a try. In my opinion the food was both tasty and good value. We always prefer to try something we haven't had before. I had the meat shatkora as it was recommended by the waiter. A lovely very citrus flavoured curry. I would recommend this as a good local curry house if you are away from home and in need of a good curry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“go for the £9.95 deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

visited this restaurant/takeaway 2 days running beginning of november.very quiet on the 2 days (mon/tue) but on these days you could opt for the £9.95 special.any starter,main meal,rice or nann and coffee or icecream.1st night starters excellent (chicken tikka/prawn dish) main meals - chicken tikka biryani - excellent , chicken korma - bit bland., naan good , afters good.2nd night starters again excellent , main meals 2 x chicken tikka biriyani - both excellent ,nann and afters good. service superb , very polite , interior nice.
all in all very good food and will visit again next time in ilfracombe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dave k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worst curry I've had in years, my nine year old son said "worst restaurant in the world!!"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

On arrival we were greeted and seated all very nicely. Unfortunately, the whole place could do with a revamp, crockery and toilets included! However, the worst part which is obviously the reason for going was the food!! There were 5 of us in total and we all agreed that the meals were less than desirable. Starters - chicken pakora, blatantly re-heated chicken was used as it had that horrible re-heated taste. Main courses 2 x chicken korma, again horrible re-heated chicken and very little flavour! My son had the roast chicken! Well when I saw it I nearly told him not to eat it! The skin was all soggy and again obviously re-heated to within an inch of its life in their favourite machine, the microwave! He said "this chickens horrible mum!" Chicken tikka masala, very average! And a chicken bandi mogli (or something like it?!) and again very bland. We couldn't get out of there fast enough, I'd rather skip a meal than eat there again! Good luck if you are daft enough to try it!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsamblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellentfood at a great price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We went to Asian Spice on a Tuesday where we (me and my partner got 5 courses each for under £22! The food was great and the staff really friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieT2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Spice also viewed

 

Been to Bengal Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing